Services work, hosts do not.

Information and discussions relating to the Nagios V-Shell web interface.

Services work, hosts do not.

Postby NICJerry » Tue Jun 28, 2011 5:05 pm

I just installed Vshell. The documented installation procedure did not work, but this one seemed to do the trick:

http://www.keyboardmadness.com/2011/06/ ... ll-on.html

Now I have a half-functioning install of Vshell. The tactical overview works fine and the hosts list seems fine, but clicking on a host for more detail gives me a Host Status Detail page with a lot of 'unknown'. The host name is missing, the Member Of is blank, current state is unknown, all service attributes are unknown, etc. And clicking on the 'see this host in nagios core' gives me an incomplete URL:

http://<my_server>/nagios/cgi-bin/extinfo.cgi?type=1&host=

Notice the host parameter is missing at the end?

This does not appear to be a problem with services, however.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
NICJerry
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Services work, hosts do not.

Postby mguthrie » Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:56 am

I'll take a look at that. Are you using version 1.5? If not, try upgrading here:
http://exchange.nagios.org/directory/Addons/Frontends-%28GUIs-and-CLIs%29/Web-Interfaces/Nagios-V-2DShell/details

I'll have to take a look at what Ubuntu has changed for their packaged nagios3 install, because they've made several changes from a standard source-install of nagios core, and from the looks of it they've also modified some of the sourcecode of Core.
mguthrie
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:21 am

Re: Services work, hosts do not.

Postby NICJerry » Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:06 am

Thanks for the response. I am running version 1.5. I did not build the server in question, so I'm not sure if it is a package or source install of Nagios. Is there a way to tell?
NICJerry
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Services work, hosts do not.

Postby mguthrie » Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:20 am

The instructions on that website tell you to comment out the BASEURL line in the vshell.conf file. There needs to be some sort of value there since that config option is a variable referenced to build the URL for the hosts. I suggest either "vshell" or "" as a value for the BASEURL config option. If that doesn't work let me know.
mguthrie
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:21 am

Re: Services work, hosts do not.

Postby NICJerry » Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:29 am

I did not comment out the BASEURL line, and it was set to "vshell". I tried setting it to "" but that broke the system. Setting it back to "vshell" let it work again, but still with the same issues as before.
NICJerry
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Services work, hosts do not.

Postby mguthrie » Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:44 am

Ok, I see what it is. I made a change in 1.5 to handle special characters in the host and service names, but it looks like I missed one somewhere. I'll try to get a fix posted either today or tomorrow. If you can post 1 or 2 host names that are breaking on the details page I'll get it fixed and post a new release to exchange.
mguthrie
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:21 am

Re: Services work, hosts do not.

Postby NICJerry » Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:47 am

I just noticed that none of the server hosts work except for "nagiosvm". Other types of hosts, like switches and routers, appear to work fine. None of my hosts have special characters or spaces in their names.
NICJerry
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Services work, hosts do not.

Postby mguthrie » Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:56 pm

Ok, I got it figured out. Bug should be fixed, along with a few other CSS fixes, and new version is posted to the Nagios Exchange.
http://exchange.nagios.org/directory/Addons/Frontends-%28GUIs-and-CLIs%29/Web-Interfaces/Nagios-V-2DShell/details

Let me know if the problems persist.
mguthrie
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:21 am

Re: Services work, hosts do not.

Postby NICJerry » Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:10 pm

That seems to have worked! Nicely done. Thanks!
NICJerry
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Services work, hosts do not.

Postby NICJerry » Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:28 pm

One more thing - it's more of a niggle than a bug. When you click on See All Services For This Host, it takes you to a URL like:

http://<my_server>/vshell/index.php?type=services&name_filter=MonitoredMachine

However, if I have one host named "MonitoredMachine" and another called "MonitoredMachine2", they BOTH show up on the same page. The inverse is NOT true. If I look at the services for MonitoredMachine2, only it appears.

Not a big deal by any means, but thought you'd want to know. Thanks.
NICJerry
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:40 pm

Next

Return to Nagios V-Shell

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest