Edit nagios navigation bar

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
tariqondego
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:18 am

Re: Edit nagios navigation bar

Post by tariqondego »

See below,I added a link to Paynet Systems

Code: Select all

<div class="navsection">
<div class="navsectiontitle">General</div>
<div class="navsectionlinks">
<ul class="navsectionlinks">
<li><a href="main.php" target="<?php echo $link_target;?>">Home</a></li>
<li><a href="http://go.nagios.com/nagioscore/docs" target="_blank">Documentation</a></li>
<li><a href="http://172.16.111.7/nagvis/frontend/nagvis-js/index.php?mod=Map&act=view&show=paynetsystems" target=" blank"> Paynet Systems</a></li>
</ul>
</div>
</div>
abrist
Red Shirt
Posts: 8334
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:20 pm

Re: Edit nagios navigation bar

Post by abrist »

Well, I don't know the effect this will have, but you are missing the underscore in target. Change:
tariqondego wrote:<li><a href="http://172.16.111.7/nagvis/frontend/nag ... netsystems" target=" blank"> Paynet Systems</a></li>
To:

Code: Select all

<li><a href="http://172.16.111.7/nagvis/frontend/nagvis-js/index.php?mod=Map&act=view&show=paynetsystems" target="_blank">Paynet Systems</a></li>
Former Nagios employee
"It is turtles. All. The. Way. Down. . . .and maybe an elephant or two."
VI VI VI - The editor of the Beast!
Come to the Dark Side.
tariqondego
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:18 am

Re: Edit nagios navigation bar

Post by tariqondego »

Hi,

That did not solve it.The changes are still not reflecting on the browser yet.Any other ideas? Because now I am surely stuck.
abrist
Red Shirt
Posts: 8334
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:20 pm

Re: Edit nagios navigation bar

Post by abrist »

Umm, do you use caching on this server? (if so, you may need to restart apache) Changing the side.php should most definitely work, or at least cause some type of noticeable change to the webpage. Can you add any other html to the side.php file and then subsequently see it in your browser?
Former Nagios employee
"It is turtles. All. The. Way. Down. . . .and maybe an elephant or two."
VI VI VI - The editor of the Beast!
Come to the Dark Side.
tariqondego
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:18 am

Re: Edit nagios navigation bar

Post by tariqondego »

I have tried reseting apache and nagios several times.Adding html to the side.php file even cutting the default links that already exist in this file,but the changes are not reflecting on the browser.I have confirmed that nagios.conf for apache point to /usr/local/nagios/share where side.php exists,which means it is pointing to the correct location.But this file is still not reflecting on the browser.
Help.
abrist
Red Shirt
Posts: 8334
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:20 pm

Re: Edit nagios navigation bar

Post by abrist »

Just out of curiosity:
1) Have you cleared your browser's cache?
2) Is it possible that you may have 2 nagios installs with different share folder locations?
Former Nagios employee
"It is turtles. All. The. Way. Down. . . .and maybe an elephant or two."
VI VI VI - The editor of the Beast!
Come to the Dark Side.
tariqondego
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:18 am

Re: Edit nagios navigation bar

Post by tariqondego »

Well,clearing the cache did not help,if you meant cache of my local machine,since nagios is at a central dedicated server.
And since the installation was done by a previous admin,your second opinion was always suspect,so always i have been going back and forth re-confirming that there is no second nagios install and that this is the directory that apache is using.I have added several,hosts,services and hostgroups under this same install directory and the changes are reflected on the browser.
So this whole thing has my head twisted.

Help.
tariqondego
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:18 am

Re: Edit nagios navigation bar

Post by tariqondego »

I also went ahead to rename the side.html file and yes this caused an error on the browser of this missing file,so this means I am in the right directory but the side.php is just not effecting this changes.
abrist
Red Shirt
Posts: 8334
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:20 pm

Re: Edit nagios navigation bar

Post by abrist »

odd. I added the following line to the general navsectionlinks ul:

Code: Select all

<li><a href="http://google.com/" target="_blank">google</a></li>
So that the div code looks like:

Code: Select all

<div class="navsection">
<div class="navsectiontitle">General</div>
<div class="navsectionlinks">
<ul class="navsectionlinks">
<li><a href="main.php" target="<?php echo $link_target;?>">Home</a></li>
<li><a href="http://google.com" target="_blank">google</a></li>
<li><a href="http://go.nagios.com/nagioscore/docs" target="_blank">Documentation</a></li>
</ul>
</div>
</div>
And it works just fine. What version of nagios are you running?
Former Nagios employee
"It is turtles. All. The. Way. Down. . . .and maybe an elephant or two."
VI VI VI - The editor of the Beast!
Come to the Dark Side.
tariqondego
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:18 am

Re: Edit nagios navigation bar

Post by tariqondego »

I am runnung Nagios® Core™ 3.3.1
Locked