Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be missing
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:52 am
Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be missing
I've installed nagios core on my fedora 14 machine using the quickstart guide. When I check the status it shows me the status of the localhost to be "down" and the information next to it says "(Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be missing)". I remember installing the plugins using the quickstart guide. Can someone please help me resolving the issue.
-
- Posts: 7698
- Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 4:28 pm
- Location: Travelling through time and space...
Re: Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be miss
Can you run the following and share the output:
Code: Select all
ll /usr/local/nagios/libexec
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:52 am
Re: Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be miss
i assume that was: cd /usr/local/nagios/libexec
Here is the o/p:
[root@ayush ayush]# cd /usr/local/nagios/libexec
[root@ayush libexec]# ls
[root@ayush libexec]#
Basically there is nothing in libexec. It is empty.
Here is the o/p:
[root@ayush ayush]# cd /usr/local/nagios/libexec
[root@ayush libexec]# ls
[root@ayush libexec]#
Basically there is nothing in libexec. It is empty.
-
- -fno-stack-protector
- Posts: 4366
- Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:10 pm
Re: Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be miss
I would suggest you start by recompiling the plugins. By default the folder above is where they should go without any special flags. Otherwise you can certainly run a locate or find on something like "check_snmp" to try and find where they went.
Nagios-Plugins maintainer exclusively, unless you have other C language bugs with open-source nagios projects, then I am happy to help! Please pm or use other communication to alert me to issues as I no longer track the forum.
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:52 am
Re: Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be miss
Can you please guide me on how to do that?
-
- Posts: 7698
- Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 4:28 pm
- Location: Travelling through time and space...
Re: Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be miss
Download the plugins tarball from this page, into your /tmp directory:
http://www.nagios.org/download/plugins/
Then:
Now, re-check the libexec directory.
http://www.nagios.org/download/plugins/
Then:
Code: Select all
tar zxf nagios-plugins-1.4.16.tar.gz
cd nagios-plugins-1.4.16
./configure
make
Re: Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be miss
Download the tarball from here:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/nagiosplug/files/
Copy it to /tmp directory and run the following commands:
Examine to see if you have any compile errors, etc. Check if you have the plugins in the libexec.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/nagiosplug/files/
Copy it to /tmp directory and run the following commands:
Code: Select all
cd /tmp
tar zxvf nagios-plugins-1.4.16.tar.gz
cd nagios-plugins-1.4.16
./configure --with-nagios-user=nagios --with-nagios-group=nagios
make
make install
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:52 am
Re: Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be miss
I downloaded the file and installed with the said instructions but it gave me errors and also after that I checked the libexec directory but found nothing. Attached are the 2 screenshots of the error i got. 1st is when i ran "make" and 2nd is when i ran "make install"
Re: Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be miss
Run:
then try recompiling again.
Code: Select all
yum install libssl-dev -y
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:52 am
Re: Return code of 127 is out of bounds - plugin may be miss
logged in as root and ran the code:
[root@ayush ayush]# yum install libssl-dev -y
After that recompiled again but no luck. Still the same errors and empty libexec directory.
[root@ayush ayush]# yum install libssl-dev -y
After that recompiled again but no luck. Still the same errors and empty libexec directory.