Alerts

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
ericssonvietnam
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:05 pm

Alerts

Post by ericssonvietnam »

How can i get rid of the alerts as shown in screenshot do these two alerts have any impact on monitoring
Attachments
alert.PNG
alert.PNG (7.07 KiB) Viewed 2095 times
User avatar
tacolover101
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:55 am

Re: Alerts

Post by tacolover101 »

460 processes seems high for a nagios machine, but depending what you're doing on it - does it look normal? if you have a lot of checks, there could be a lot of processes spawned. change your warning / critical thresholds to fix.

as for the forbidden, i'd expect that as well if you don't have credentials set. you could append -e 403 to make it go to OK.
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Alerts

Post by scottwilkerson »

I'm going to concur with @tacolover101 460 seems high, you likely want to investigate the problem instead of making the error simply go away.

However, you would need to adjust the critical threshold in the check command for the service o actually make it go away
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
ericssonvietnam
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:05 pm

Re: Alerts

Post by ericssonvietnam »

scottwilkerson wrote:I'm going to concur with @tacolover101 460 seems high, you likely want to investigate the problem instead of making the error simply go away.

However, you would need to adjust the critical threshold in the check command for the service o actually make it go away
What are the things i need to check,in current setup i have only two checks ssh and ping and around half of the hosts are missing from GUI as if now which were visible earlier.
Only 235 ssh check and remaining host are configured for ping check

I have around 1300 hosts in total.
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Alerts

Post by scottwilkerson »

I'd start with a

Code: Select all

ps -ef > /tmp/ps.txt
and attach the /tmp/ps.txt file created
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
ericssonvietnam
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:05 pm

Re: Alerts

Post by ericssonvietnam »

scottwilkerson wrote:I'd start with a

Code: Select all

ps -ef > /tmp/ps.txt
and attach the /tmp/ps.txt file created
Find the file attached.Let me know if we need to check something else as well.
Attachments
ps.txt
(40.12 KiB) Downloaded 114 times
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Alerts

Post by scottwilkerson »

you have multiple parent nagios processes.

run the following

Code: Select all

service nagios stop
killall -9 nagios
service nagios start
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
ericssonvietnam
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:05 pm

Re: Alerts

Post by ericssonvietnam »

scottwilkerson wrote:you have multiple parent nagios processes.

run the following

Code: Select all

service nagios stop
killall -9 nagios
service nagios start
Now its prey stable all nodes and services are completely visible on the GUI.
But can you still let me know if we can check something else to fix the http warning and flapping total process.
Or let me know if i need to ignore flapping as it not giving any warning or critical.
User avatar
cdienger
Support Tech
Posts: 5045
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:26 am

Re: Alerts

Post by cdienger »

Can you provide the full command for the http_check?
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
ericssonvietnam
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:05 pm

Re: Alerts

Post by ericssonvietnam »

cdienger wrote:Can you provide the full command for the http_check?
below is the service details :

define service{
use local-service ; Name of service template to use
host_name localhost
service_description HTTP
check_command check_http
notifications_enabled 0
}
Locked