Receive only critical alerts from a remote server?

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
aaronvan

Receive only critical alerts from a remote server?

Post by aaronvan »

I'm new to Nagios. We want to monitor--from Washington State--several remote Land Mobile Radio servers and routers in Alaska. They are currently running Centerity (but I can install Nagios.) However, our connection is a narrow satellite link from Alaska to Houston and bandwidth is precious. I have an idea to run the Nagios server locally and continuously monitor connectivity (ping) and heartbeat, but it would only utilize the sat link to send a critical event alert to the front-end. Here is a (very simple) Google slide of what I am trying to accomplish: https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/ ... sp=sharing. Feel free to add/edit the slide if you want.

So it is possible to configure the local Nagios server to send only user-specific events to a remote front-end? Would I need XI or will Core suffice? Any advice or guidance is appreciated. Thanks.
dwhitfield
Former Nagios Staff

Re: Receive only critical alerts from a remote server?

Post by dwhitfield »

I'm not sure what you are trying to do. You talk about just doing criticals, but then you start talking about users.

You can do both if I understand, but for clarity "users" is an XI term and "contacts" is a Core term.
https://assets.nagios.com/downloads/nag ... tions.html

For example, the below has notification_options and contact_groups:

Code: Select all

define host {
    host_name                       bogus-router
    address                         192.168.1.254
    check_command                   check-host-alive
    check_interval                  5
    retry_interval                  1
    max_check_attempts              5
    check_period                    24x7