CHECK_NRPE: Error - Could not complete SSL handshake.

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
alberto.alonso

CHECK_NRPE: Error - Could not complete SSL handshake.

Post by alberto.alonso »

Hello

I'm pretty new at Nagios and I'm having a problem when installing the NRPE plugin in Centos.

I have a monitoring server (its hostname is wizzo-int-monitoring0) where I have installed:
- Nagios-4.0.7 <--- it works fine, as I am seeing the remote host
- Nagios-plugins-2.0.3
- NRPE-2.15

In the remote server (its hostname is wizzo-int-read3), I have installed:
- sudo yum -y install openssl-devel gcc xinetd make
- Nagios-plugins-2.0.3
- NRPE-2.15

Moreover, in the remote server, I have made some changes in the following files:

- In /etc/xinetd.d/nrpe I have added only_from = 127.0.0.1 wizzo-int-monitoring0
- In /etc/services I have added the line: nrpe 5666/tcp # NRPE
- In /etc/hosts.allow I have added the line: nrpe: 127.0.0.1 wizzo-int-monitoring0

I have also modified the iptables:
- sudo iptables -A INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 5666 -j ACCEPT
- sudo service iptables save

In the remote server, If i type /usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_nrpe -H localhost
I get NRPE v2.15 <---- what it's correct

But If I type in the monitoring server /usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_nrpe -H wizzo-int-read3
I get CHECK_NRPE: Error - Could not complete SSL handshake.

If I modify the etc/xinetd.d/nrpe and change wizzo-int-monitoring0 by its IP address, it works. But I need to use the hostname, as it can change.

What am i doing wrong?
What do i have to do to be able to use hostnames in the /etc/xinetd.d/nrpe file?
I am getting crazy and I dont know what else to do.

Thanks a lot in advance

PS. I tried to post this issue in a different section, maybe it should be here "Nagios Plugin Development", it seems more concrete than Nagios Core"
sreinhardt