Page 1 of 1

Nagios Core Config Manager not showing up

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:01 pm
by sappjt
I have ran through the scripts to install nagiosxi on rhel 5.5. It is 32bit and I am behind a proxy. I finally (after several attempts) got Nagiosxi to the web page and was able to log in. Everything seems to work, but I was missing some config files and I copied them over from a CentOS appliance that I downloaded from you. After that I was able to get nagios to start without errors and start to monitor systems. I can put new systems in (I dont have all the options that the trial appliance has) and they work. I can't seem to get the nagios core config manager page to work. I have the index to the left, but it never asks me to log in. I can click on the index and nothing happens. I copied more files from the appliance from the includes directory and hoped that would work. I still get the same results. Can you let me know what script failed to get all the data, or let me know where I should start?

Re: Nagios Core Config Manager not showing up

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:29 pm
by tonyyarusso

Re: Nagios Core Config Manager not showing up

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:03 pm
by sappjt
I did have the proxy in the yum.conf, but I don't think it was in the wgetrc. Could I just add it and rerun the scripts, or would I be better off starting over?

Re: Nagios Core Config Manager not showing up

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:51 pm
by mguthrie
With proxies, the other place that the scripts might fail is the E-nagiosql script, because they use wget with php scripts to perform NagiosQL functions. I can't give you a definite answer on if it will work without fully reinstalling, but if you're able to get into nagios xi, but the CCM is causing errors, I would try running the E-nagiosql script again with the wget fix, and also check your apache error log if you keep getting a blank screen for the CCM. One of the requirements for the CCM is running something to the effect of "pear install HTML-template" (I don't remember the exact package name, but it's in the prereqs script), it's possible the proxy would mess that part up as well.

Re: Nagios Core Config Manager not showing up

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:36 pm
by sappjt
I will run both the prereqs script and the nagiosql script with the settings in place. Another note for people who are behind a proxy is, I couldn't get the rpmdevtools installed unless I put an .rpmmacros file in /root. You have to put

%_httpproxy "nameofproxy"
%_httpport "portnumber"

I ran both of the scripts and this is probably my problem.
+ yum -y install phpMyAdmin
Loaded plugins: rhnplugin, security
Setting up Install Process
Package phpMyAdmin-2.11.10.1-1.el5.noarch already installed and latest version
Nothing to do
+ pear install HTML_Template_IT
PHP Warning: Module 'SourceGuardian' already loaded in Unknown on line 0
No releases available for package "pear.php.net/HTML_Template_IT"
Cannot initialize 'HTML_Template_IT', invalid or missing package file
Package "HTML_Template_IT" is not valid
install failed

Is this a proxy issue still or is it because of SourceGuardian?

Re: Nagios Core Config Manager not showing up

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:47 pm
by mguthrie
I ran this to make sure the pear package was still valid:
[url]
[root@localhost services]# pear install HTML_Template_IT
WARNING: channel "pear.php.net" has updated its protocols, use "channel-update pear.php.net" to update
Skipping package "pear/HTML_Template_IT", already installed as version 1.3.0
No valid packages found
install failed[/url]

The package is still there, but the proxy is maybe preventing it from being found. I don't think sourcegaurdian is causing the issue there.

Re: Nagios Core Config Manager not showing up

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 5:35 pm
by sappjt
I checked with the administrator of our proxy and pear wasn't using it. I ran this command

pear config-set http_proxy http://proxy:port

Then I ran

pear install HTML_Template_IT

Checked the Core config manager and it worked. Thanks.

Re: Nagios Core Config Manager not showing up

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:13 am
by rdedon
Excellent! Thank you for the update :-)