nrdp objects not in Unconfigured Objects

This support forum board is for support questions relating to Nagios XI, our flagship commercial network monitoring solution.
grenley
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 6:06 pm

nrdp objects not in Unconfigured Objects

Post by grenley »

Hi,

We're starting to build our production test environment and have a new XI server.
Our checks are all passive.
They're sending through nrds but nothing is showing up in "Unconfigured Objects".
Here's the XML transaction data that indicates XI successfully processed the data (from the remote nrds agent)

Code: Select all

<?xml version='1.0'?>
<checkresults>
<checkresult type='service' checktype='1'>
<hostname>mytest1.att.com</hostname>
<servicename>Proc_PLATMON-cron</servicename>
<state>0</state>
<output><![CDATA[PROCESS OK - no errors found]]></output>
</checkresult>
</checkresults>

1
200 OK
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<result>
  <status>0</status>
  <message>OK</message>
    <meta>
       <output>1 checks processed.</output>
    </meta>
</result>
We've never had this issue with our dev XI servers, so it must be something we missed in the XI configuration.

Rick
User avatar
Box293
Too Basu
Posts: 5126
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 10:55 pm
Location: Deniliquin, Australia
Contact:

Re: nrdp objects not in Unconfigured Objects

Post by Box293 »

Just checking some basics, have you configured the NRDP Token in XI?

Admin > Check Transfers > Inbound Transfers
NRDP tab

Try a test from the NRDP webpage:

[url]http://nagiosxi_ip/nrdp/[/url]

When you do this, what is logged in:

Code: Select all

/usr/local/nagios/var/nagios.log
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
grenley
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 6:06 pm

Re: nrdp objects not in Unconfigured Objects

Post by grenley »

The tokens match.
Besides, if they didn't, you'd get this:

Code: Select all

1
200 OK
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<result>
  <status>-1</status>
  <message>BAD TOKEN</message>
</result>
I submitted the sample xml (using the proper token) on the http://nagiosxi_ip/nrdp/ page and it returned this:

Code: Select all

<result>
  <status>0</status>
  <message>OK</message>
  <meta>
    <output>2 checks processed.</output>
  </meta>
</result>
But nothing was written to nagios.log
User avatar
lmiltchev
Former Nagios Staff
Posts: 13587
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:15 pm

Re: nrdp objects not in Unconfigured Objects

Post by lmiltchev »

Let's check one thing - go to Admin->Performance Settings->Subsystem tab and see if the "Enable Listener For Unconfigured Objects" check-box is selected.
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
grenley
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 6:06 pm

Re: nrdp objects not in Unconfigured Objects

Post by grenley »

yes. "Enable Listener For Unconfigured Objects" is checked
abrist
Red Shirt
Posts: 8334
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:20 pm

Re: nrdp objects not in Unconfigured Objects

Post by abrist »

Is the feedproc cron running on the XI server?

Code: Select all

ps -ef |grep feedproc
If so, are you getting any errors when tailing this log (when receiving checks through nrdp):

Code: Select all

tail -f /usr/local/nagiosxi/var/feedproc.log
Former Nagios employee
"It is turtles. All. The. Way. Down. . . .and maybe an elephant or two."
VI VI VI - The editor of the Beast!
Come to the Dark Side.
grenley
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 6:06 pm

Re: nrdp objects not in Unconfigured Objects

Post by grenley »

yes, it's running.
and yes, we are getting php errors...

Code: Select all

PROCESSED 0 COMMANDS
tail: /usr/local/nagiosxi/var/feedproc.log: file truncated
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '//opt/app/php/lib64/php/modules/curl.so' - //opt/app/php/lib64/php/modul0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '//opt/app/php/lib64/php/modules/fileinfo.so' - //opt/app/php/lib64/php/m0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '//opt/app/php/lib64/php/modules/json.so' - //opt/app/php/lib64/php/modul0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '//opt/app/php/lib64/php/modules/phar.so' - //opt/app/php/lib64/php/modul0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '//opt/app/php/lib64/php/modules/zip.so' - //opt/app/php/lib64/php/module0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '//opt/app/php/lib64/php/modules/curl.so' - //opt/app/php/lib64/php/modul0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '//opt/app/php/lib64/php/modules/fileinfo.so' - //opt/app/php/lib64/php/m0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '//opt/app/php/lib64/php/modules/json.so' - //opt/app/php/lib64/php/modul0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '//opt/app/php/lib64/php/modules/phar.so' - //opt/app/php/lib64/php/modul0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '//opt/app/php/lib64/php/modules/zip.so' - //opt/app/php/lib64/php/module0
abrist
Red Shirt
Posts: 8334
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:20 pm

Re: nrdp objects not in Unconfigured Objects

Post by abrist »

What is the output of:

Code: Select all

cat /etc/php.d/mcrypt.ini
yum list installed | grep php
Former Nagios employee
"It is turtles. All. The. Way. Down. . . .and maybe an elephant or two."
VI VI VI - The editor of the Beast!
Come to the Dark Side.
tmcdonald
Posts: 9117
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:40 am

Re: nrdp objects not in Unconfigured Objects

Post by tmcdonald »

Also, what OS and version is this server?

Is it a clean, minimal CentOS/RHEL install? It almost looks like a non-standard PHP installation is present.
Former Nagios employee
grenley
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 6:06 pm

Re: nrdp objects not in Unconfigured Objects

Post by grenley »

cat /etc/php.d/mcrypt.ini

Code: Select all

; Enable mcrypt extension module
extension=mcrypt.so
yum list installed | grep php

Code: Select all

php-common.x86_64                 5.3.3-40.el6_6           @prod-x86_64-server-6
php-ldap.x86_64                   5.3.3-40.el6_6           @prod-x86_64-server-6
It's RHEL:
uname -r

Code: Select all

2.6.32-504.8.1.el6.x86_64
Locked