NCPA v2.1.4 not detecting NFS v3 mounts

This support forum board is for support questions relating to Nagios XI, our flagship commercial network monitoring solution.
madhu2852
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:13 pm

NCPA v2.1.4 not detecting NFS v3 mounts

Post by madhu2852 »

Hi Team,

I tried to configure monitoring on NFS mounts on RHEL box with NCPA v2.1.4 installed. I found that ncpa is unable to capture the nfs mounts with (nfsvers=3) version.
Its able to capture the mounts which have default nfs version ie. v4.
Below is the o/p from fstab -

WORKING = nfs hard,intr,bg 0 0

NOT WORKING = nfs hard,intr,bg,nfsvers=3 0 0
jomann
Development Lead
Posts: 611
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:06 am
Location: Nagios Enterprises

Re: NCPA v2.1.4 not detecting NFS v3 mounts

Post by jomann »

Have you edited the NCPA configuration to adjust the exclude_fs_types variable accordingly?

Besides doing that, we are using psutil to get the mount data. I checked for issues with nfs and I don't see any. If the configuration is correct please let me know, you'd need to try installing psutil (pip install psutil) and then going into the python terminal and doing:

Code: Select all

import psutil
psutil.psutil.disk_partitions(all=True)
And tell me if you see the mountpoint there.
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
madhu2852
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:13 pm

Re: NCPA v2.1.4 not detecting NFS v3 mounts

Post by madhu2852 »

Please find the details below:

cat /usr/local/ncpa/etc/ncpa.cfg| grep exclude
exclude_fs_types = aufs,autofs,binfmt_misc,cifs,cgroup,debugfs,devpts,devtmpfs,encryptfs,efivarfs,fuse,hugelbtfs,mqueue,overlayfs,proc,pstore,rpc_pipefs,securityfs,smb,sysfs,tmpfs,tracefs

#############################

python
Python 2.7.5 (default, Aug 4 2017, 00:39:18)
[GCC 4.8.5 20150623 (Red Hat 4.8.5-16)] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import psutil
>>> psutil.psutil.disk_partitions(all=True)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
AttributeError: 'ModuleWrapper' object has no attribute 'psutil'
jomann
Development Lead
Posts: 611
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:06 am
Location: Nagios Enterprises

Re: NCPA v2.1.4 not detecting NFS v3 mounts

Post by jomann »

You'll have to run

Code: Select all

python -m pip install psutil
first before running the above.
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
madhu2852
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:13 pm

Re: NCPA v2.1.4 not detecting NFS v3 mounts

Post by madhu2852 »

Below is the o/p:

python -m pip install psutil
Requirement already satisfied: psutil in /usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages
You are using pip version 9.0.1, however version 18.0 is available.
You should consider upgrading via the 'pip install --upgrade pip' command.
jomann
Development Lead
Posts: 611
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:06 am
Location: Nagios Enterprises

Re: NCPA v2.1.4 not detecting NFS v3 mounts

Post by jomann »

Oh I am sorry, it looks like you did psutil.psutil.disk_partitions(all=True)
You should do

Code: Select all

import psutil
psutil.disk_partitions(all=True)
We just want to see what it brings up for disks. This is how it does it inside NCPA.
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
madhu2852
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:13 pm

Re: NCPA v2.1.4 not detecting NFS v3 mounts

Post by madhu2852 »

Yes im able to see mounts in the o/p from the above command.

fstype='nfs', opts='rw,relatime,vers=3
fstype='nfs4', opts='rw,relatime,vers=4.1
madhu2852
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:13 pm

Re: NCPA v2.1.4 not detecting NFS v3 mounts

Post by madhu2852 »

Any Update on the issue ..?
User avatar
cdienger
Support Tech
Posts: 5045
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:26 am

Re: NCPA v2.1.4 not detecting NFS v3 mounts

Post by cdienger »

Can you clarify what you mean when you say "unable to capture" ? Is a specific command not working? Are you not seeing something in the web UI?
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
madhu2852
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:13 pm

Re: NCPA v2.1.4 not detecting NFS v3 mounts

Post by madhu2852 »

When I logged into NCPA API(GUI) i'm not seeing the nfs mounts which are nfs v3.
I'm able to see the mounts in the GUI with v4.
Locked