Freshness check chg my service checks fr passive to active?

This support forum board is for support questions relating to Nagios XI, our flagship commercial network monitoring solution.
charmainequek

Freshness check chg my service checks fr passive to active?

Post by charmainequek »

hi all, i am pretty new to Nagios XI, hope to get some help and advice on this issue i am facing..
Currently we have a software that sends check results to Nagios XI using the NRDP agent running in Nagios. These are passive checks. However i noticed after some servers having some down time, the results showing in Nagios XI becomes "UNKNOWN" for the longest time and does not recover.
Whan i checked the results from a nrdp dump, the services are seen to be ok and running. I looked into the services' advanced configuration and notice they have changed from "passive, soft" to "active, hard" checks. Would like to have some advise on how to reverse the situation and change the service back to "passive, soft"?
Thanks. :)
cdienger
Support Tech

Re: Freshness check chg my service checks fr passive to acti

Post by cdienger »

This sounds very odd. What version of XI is this?

Does the configuration change as well if you edit the service and look at it's "Check Settings" tab? The running config is stored in /usr/local/nagios/var/status.dat(or /var/nagiosramdisk if you have a ramdisk) - do you see the changes to the service in there as well ?

My initial thought is that someone must be modifying it - is there anyone with access to the machine besides you? The audit log can be checked under Admin > System Information > Audit Log. Modifing and applying changes to a service would generate a few lines like:

Service modified: 192.168.0.31
Config file deleted: 192.168.0.31.cfg
User applied a new monitoring configuration
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
charmainequek

Post by charmainequek »

hi cdienger,