Upgrade from 5.4.2 to 5.6.3 fails

This support forum board is for support questions relating to Nagios XI, our flagship commercial network monitoring solution.
johnbrodhurstadm

Upgrade from 5.4.2 to 5.6.3 fails

Post by johnbrodhurstadm »

Attempting to take over an old Nagios XI installation that has been un-maintained for some time. I've been asked to update to the latest version, and after fixing an issue of dirty databases with a repair script, I'm now stuck receiving the following error when I try to update in the web interface:

Code: Select all

ERROR 1060 (42S21) at line 25: Duplicate column name 'dependent_servicegroup_name'
I've checked using touch mysql.5600.updated which has allowed the upgrade to get this far - it failed much earlier before I did that - it gets that far and stops. I've used the upgrade script on the shell which completes, but the web UI still says that it's on 5.4.2 and needs to be updated. I'm not sure what to do next, as I'm quite new to Nagios full stop.
benjaminsmith

Re: Upgrade from 5.4.2 to 5.6.3 fails

Post by benjaminsmith »

Hi John,

Let's try upgrading this server using the manual process. Log in as root in the terminal and run the following commands:

cd /tmp
rm -rf nagiosxi xi*.tar.gz
wget http://assets.nagios.com/downloads/nagiosxi/xi-latest.tar.gz
tar xzf xi-latest.tar.gz
cd nagiosxi
./upgrade
If the upgrade fails again, please post the upgrade log at /usr/local/nagiosxi/tmp/upgrade.log, and PM your system profile.

To send us your system profile.
Login to the Nagios XI GUI using a web browser.
Click the "Admin" > "System Profile" Menu
Click the "Download Profile" button
Save the profile.zip file and share in a private message or upload it to the post/ticket.

Let me know if you have any questions or need clarification on anything.
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.