Check nrpe capabilities

This board serves as an open discussion and support collaboration point for Nagios XI. NOTE: Nagios XI customers should use the Customer Support forum to obtain expedited support.

Check nrpe capabilities

Postby grayloglearn » Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:05 pm

Hi Team,

All the services as per my knowledge in any environment we will use check nrpe.

In 1 min how many checks will poll and retrieve the data from clients using check nrpe.?
Why am asking this question means check nrpe will not calm 1 min, it's counting checking the service status, Is there any limit on check nrpe will check in 1 min this many numbers of services??

If we have count what is the number.
grayloglearn
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 8:55 am

Re: Check nrpe capabilities

Postby scottwilkerson » Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:12 pm

This is only limited by the capabilities of the hardware of your Nagios XI server in terms of
Disk Speed
Memory
CPUs
Network
etc.
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
User avatar
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
 
Posts: 16750
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises

Re: Check nrpe capabilities

Postby grayloglearn » Mon Oct 14, 2019 8:44 pm

Could you please one example.
My concern is check nrpe will call lot of services in between does check nrpe will hang some times on performance level while calling remote services and getting the data.
grayloglearn
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 8:55 am

Re: Check nrpe capabilities

Postby scottwilkerson » Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:46 am

These are the only examples we have for estimated system requirements
https://assets.nagios.com/downloads/nagiosxi/docs/Nagios-XI-Hardware-Requirements.pdf
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
User avatar
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
 
Posts: 16750
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises

Re: Check nrpe capabilities

Postby grayloglearn » Fri Oct 18, 2019 12:27 pm

Does check nrpe will use cache to check the services, Example: check nrpe is asking the remote cpu load or any services, Does check nrpe, checknt will use cache of the previous commands??? Means before 5 min it may got service check output. It's storing in cache then later for same check it's again using the last cache or buffered check to reduce the stress on check.
grayloglearn
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 8:55 am

Re: Check nrpe capabilities

Postby scottwilkerson » Fri Oct 18, 2019 12:51 pm

grayloglearn wrote:Does check nrpe will use cache to check the services, Example: check nrpe is asking the remote cpu load or any services, Does check nrpe, checknt will use cache of the previous commands??? Means before 5 min it may got service check output. It's storing in cache then later for same check it's again using the last cache or buffered check to reduce the stress on check.


No the checks are run every time they are called
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
User avatar
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
 
Posts: 16750
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises


Return to Nagios XI

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 19 guests