Q&A for host/service/command best practices

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
AGray

Q&A for host/service/command best practices

Post by AGray »

I am new to Nagios by about 2 weeks. I read a lot of threads online and decided the only way I was going to know how to implement this in our environment was to get my hands dirty and likely have to re-visit how we implemented it after I know more.

So what I have done so far is, I have a cfg_dir defined where I store all my .cfg files.
Hosts/Groups are defined in one file. I have 150 hosts so far and many defined groups
Services are defined in another file.
Commands are defined in another file.

I re-use the same services for entire host groups. This seemed like a great idea initially, but what I have experienced is that the arguments I pass to the command via the service vary with many hosts.

Now I got to wondering would I be better off having a separate hostname.cfg and perhaps hostname-services.cfg and hostname-commands.cfg (basically hostname-{X}.cfg for the various needs I have)? I could easily create some template files and a shell script to on-board a new host. I just dont know if this is an approach that is used by others out there successfully? I also was thinking that I couldn't use the same service description as that must be unique. So that means likely thousands of services that are almost dupes except for the arguments I pass in that service are slightly different (ie: thresholds for warning vs critical are different for host-A vs host-B).

I was thinking I could almost re-use the same services and commands as I am doing now *IF* there was a way to define the arguments the service passes to the commands as variables, specified on the host level?