Missing expression after unary opearator '-'. At line:1 char

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
santoshkp

Missing expression after unary opearator '-'. At line:1 char

Post by santoshkp »

Hi,
I am facing some peculiar issue in PowerShell 2.0. I am monitoring Exchange 2010 server.I am not an expert in PS but occasionally write/edit few scripts to work with Nagios monitoring tool. Requesting help form PS experts. Your help will be appreciated.

The script ExServiceAlert10.ps1 is attached in this post. The script is working fine and shows no error, if I directly execute it in PowerShell command like below.
PS C:\Windows\system32> D:\ExServiceAlert10.ps1

But shows error when execute in Normal windows command prompt or from Nagios NSClient++ like below.

Normal command Prompt execution: (Script placed at D:)
D:\>echo .\ExServiceAlert10.ps1 ; exit $LastExitCode | powershell.exe -command -

From nagios NSclient++ execution via check_nrpe: (Script placed inside script folder of NSClient++)
cmd /c echo scripts\ExServiceAlert10.ps1; exit $LastExitCode | powershell.exe -command –

The error I am getting by the above 2 ways is as follows.
Missing expression after unary opearator ‘-’.
At line:1 char:2
+ – <<<<
+ CategoryInfo : ParseError: (-:String) [], ParentContainsErrorRecordException
+FullyQualifiedErrorId : MissingExpressionAfterOperator

I am executing this script in PowerShell 2.0 and tried various debugging methods/ posted other forums to solve this for past 1 week with no success.

Besides these I have 7-8 more PS scripts following that format and all are running without any issue except this reported one. Sometimes back I checked without that dash in command line and found scripts were not working in nagios without that dash. Here are some entries from my NSClient++ conf. file NSC.ini for other PS scripts which are working fine.