SNMP V3 Nagios

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
sgalliani

SNMP V3 Nagios

Post by sgalliani »

Hi!, I'm a student in telecommunication and network, i am currently working on a project to install EyesofNetwork. EyesofNetwork is kind of like FAN with different monitoring modules. Nagios was working fine until my supervisor demanded that i change the version of snmp to version 3 for security reasons.

So i did a bit of research, first they said that i should add it in nagios ressources to implement it to the commands

in Ressources USER2 is where is added the public community before, the same in the snmp file and the snmptrapd file. Even though i had now install snmp v3 on the server which i added in USER8.

I tested it with an snmpwalk and it works just fine but when i tried the nagios plugins on a linux server with only snmp v3, it won't be able to get any information. It must have something to do with the plugins or the commands. I am not experienced enough though and can't seem to find much on the subject of snmp v3 nagios.

This is one of the commands to check the partitions.
Anyhow forgive me for the bad english, i'm still learning, if you need any other details i would gladly oblige.

Since i wrote the article i have discovered a few more things that kind of helped me but i'm still blocked. I understand now how to partially execute plugins with the snmp v3, except i'm specifically trying to do it on switch procurves. I went to the manubulon website to get more information but my command still doesn't work. I tried looking online for specific procurve plugins but i'm lost http://nagios.manubulon.com/snmp_int.html
"Les peuples ne devraient pas avoir peur de leurs gouvernements. Les gouvernements devraient avoir peur du peuple"
sreinhardt
-fno-stack-protector

Re: SNMP V3 Nagios

Post by sreinhardt »