NRPE not returning proper output of nagios plugin...

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
Locked
[D_A]
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 3:15 am

NRPE not returning proper output of nagios plugin...

Post by [D_A] »

Hi,

Don't know if this is the right place to ask but I have a problem with NRPE when checking remote hosts ORACLE tablespace.
I have downloaded check_oracle_v3 from nagiosexchange. When running command:

Code: Select all

sapprd:/usr/local/nagios/libexec # /usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_oracle_v3 --tablespace PRD ***** ************* PSAPSR3 99 98
It return proper output:

Code: Select all

PRD : PSAPSR3 WARNING  - 98.40% used [ 3844 / 230000 MB available ]|PSAPSR3=98.40%;98;99;0;100
But when running command via check_nrpe:

Code: Select all

sapprd:/usr/local/nagios/libexec # /usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_nrpe -H localhost -c  check_spaces
(check spaces command is defined in nrpe.cfg as: command[check_spaces]=/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_oracle_v3 --tablespace PRD ***** ************* PSAPSR3 99 98)
Output is:

Code: Select all

PRD : PSAPSR3 OK - % used [  /  MB available ]|PSAPSR3=%;98;99;0;100
As you see - it is as if check_nrpe does not see the returned values or does not give proper parameters as valuest to check_oracle_v3 in the first place...

I would be wery glad if You could give me some advice how to proceed with this issue...

Br,
[D_A]
Last edited by [D_A] on Wed Jun 08, 2011 4:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
mguthrie
Posts: 4380
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:21 am

Re: NRPE not returning proper output of nagios plugin...

Post by mguthrie »

That might actually be some sort of bug in the plugin itself. If the issue was with NRPE you wouldn't be getting any data. For some reason the check plugin is returning empty strings instead of the value. Are the results any different when you use the server's IP address instead of localhost?
[D_A]
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 3:15 am

Re: NRPE not returning proper output of nagios plugin...

Post by [D_A] »

Well...

Qot this issue resolved when tried to get another plugin to work...
(Using SuSe, Oracle 10.2)
Principle what I did was:
To add:
export ORACLE_SID=SID
export ORACLE_BASE=/oracle
export ORACLE_HOME=/oracle/SID/102_64
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/sap/SID/SYS/exe/run:/oracle/SID/102_64/lib
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib
export PATH=$PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/bin

to profiles of:
nagiosuser
nrpe daemon

And to add nagiosuser to dba group.

And also:
chmod -R a+rX $ORACLE_HOME/bin
chmod -R a+rX $ORACLE_HOME/lib32
was needed.

Tried this from step one - did not help - when aplied all steps - success - plugin and other oracle plugins started to work normally again.
Hope that this will help somebody else in the future....
Locked