What if my mail server goes down.

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
Thekernel

What if my mail server goes down.

Post by Thekernel »

Is there a way to setup and extra mail forward in case my mail server goes down. We still need to be able to receive notifications if that happens. WE are using Nagios for Linux. Any ideas on what config files need to be modified or what the process would be to set this up.

Thanks
Thekernel

Re: What if my mail server goes down.

Post by Thekernel »

Sorry, I think I posted this in the wrong section. We are using Nagios 3.2.1. I'm very new to supporting this nagios and they just kind of threw it on me this morning, so any help would be much appreciated on how to get this setup.

Thanks!
agriffin

Post by agriffin »

There is really no simple way to do this. The simplest way to do it is to set up each contact with multiple email addresses (using the addressx directives and the $CONTACTADDRESSx$ macros) and send notifications to both addresses all the time (not only when your primary email server goes down). That's not very convenient but your other options are much harder to implement. You could set up an event handler to change the notification command when your mail server goes down. You could also try to ensure that your mail server doesn't go down by making it part of a HA cluster.
mrtexasfreedom

Post by mrtexasfreedom »

Agriffin has some good suggestions. Another thing you could do to reduce the promiscuity of email messages is to set up an escalations email using a third-party provider. This could even be a text message to a cellphone <yourphonenumber>@sprint.net after an hour of a critical error not being resolved. Escalating through a gmail address would also work if you're watching that gmail box constantly.