Local Host Down

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
praz

Local Host Down

Post by praz »

Hi all,

I'm a newbie with nagios and I must say 'great thanks to the development team.
I have the version 3.0.5 installed and I'm constantly getting this message every two hours:

Notification Type: PROBLEM
Host: localhost
State: DOWN
Address: 127.0.0.1
Info: (Host Check Timed Out)

I'm pretty sure there's a work-around this but I can't find a solution to this. Would anyone be kind enough to please help me fix this.

Thanks...
mguthrie

Re: Local Host Down

Post by mguthrie »

What's the check_command defined for localhost?
praz

Post by praz »

Thanks for your reply Mguthrie and apologies for the late reply. On the hosts.cfg section I don't have local hosts defined anywhere like I have other network devices. This is the same for the services.cfg. Could this be the reason? do i need to create an entry for the local host of the nagios server itself (127.0.0.1). Please find below my typical entry for the hosts.cfg and services.cfg below:

nano hosts.cfg:

define host{
use generic-host ; Name of host template to use
host_name ast1
alias ast1
address 10.0.4.202
check_command check-host-alive
max_check_attempts 1
notification_interval 1
notification_period 24x7
notification_options d,u,r
contact_groups sysadmins
}

nano services.cfg

define service{
use generic-service ; Name of service te$
host_name ast1
service_description process_asterisk
is_volatile 0
check_period 24x7
max_check_attempts 3
normal_check_interval 1
retry_check_interval 1
contact_groups sysadmins
notification_interval 120
notification_options u,c,r
check_command check_remote_procs_name!1,1!1,1!asterisk
}

Thanks and I look forward to ur reply...
praz

Post by praz »