Sporadic 'Connection refused' errors in 4.2.4

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
kernow5000

Sporadic 'Connection refused' errors in 4.2.4

Post by kernow5000 »

Hi there,

First post so be gentle with me.

I have a Nagios 4.x install which I've been running for a few years. It is currently upgraded to 4.2.4 which I believe is current.

Every so often I get false positives via check_http plugin which are usually 'connection refused' - this 'mainly' seems to happen on this plugin only.

I'm also getting these errors in /var/log/messages which from reading have been changed to warnings and not errors in the current version. These still go to /var/log/messages however.

Below:

Jan 8 08:51:21 backupserver nagios: job 6328 (pid=30393): read() returned error 11
Jan 8 08:53:21 backupserver nagios: job 6333 (pid=30501): read() returned error 11
Jan 8 13:45:41 backupserver nagios: job 7103 (pid=18374): read() returned error 11
Jan 8 13:47:41 backupserver nagios: job 7108 (pid=19397): read() returned error 11
Jan 9 11:05:31 backupserver nagios: job 179 (pid=30032): read() returned error 11
Jan 9 11:07:31 backupserver nagios: job 184 (pid=31363): read() returned error 11

These errors match my alerts exactly.
Nothing changes on the servers to cause these connection refused errors. And these errors and resulting alerts only happen perhaps a burst of 10, a couple of times a week.

It's driving me nuts! Especially when I know it's on the Nagios side and not the boxes being monitored.

Please send me in the right direction!
kernow5000

Re: Sporadic 'Connection refused' errors in 4.2.4

Post by kernow5000 »

https://support.nagios.com/forum/viewto ... =7&t=39856