check_snmp plugin timeout error

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
csptra

check_snmp plugin timeout error

Post by csptra »

Hello,

I am completely new to setting up nagios to monitor snmpd. I have a freebsd nagios box and centos machine running snmpd.

I used the exec to run check_mailq on the centos machine. I can use snmpwalk/snmpget to query it, but when I check_snmp found in nagios, it just gets plugin time out error. I'm sure its due to my lack of understanding or configuration problem. But I was wondering if someone could help me out please. I have googled the error some. But not getting headway in this way.

How can I use check_snmp to query the OID? (also, what is the $USER1 I see frequently referenced in naigos literature. Right now, I'm thinking it is the user nagios runs as maybe.)

check_snmp command:

(ran as root) check_snmp -H <ip address> -o <numeric_oid> -c <community string>
exec command in remote server snmpd.conf:
exec <name> <oid> <path/to/check_mailq + flags>

I also tried: check_snmp -H <ip address> -o <numeric_oid> -c <community string> + critical and warning flags and taking the flags off the exec statement

Please note, I can get the results with snmpwalk/snmpget. so I think its my understanding how to get Naigos to work with this. I aslo based the OID on the oids in the the example exec statements. Which seems to work.

Note: the error I get from the above is:

CRITICAL - Plugin timed out while executing system call
rkennedy

Re: check_snmp plugin timeout error

Post by rkennedy »

Can you try appending -t 60 or -t 120 t o the end of the check_snmp command? It could be simply timing out as the plugin runs. I think the default is only 10 seconds, so this would explain it. Especially since things are working with a regular walk.
Former Nagios Employee
csptra

Post by csptra »

Hello rkennedy,