Nagios Upgrade

An open discussion forum for obtaining help with Nagios Core. Nagios Core users of all experience levels are welcome here. Subforum have been created for the discussion of Nagios Core and Nagios Plugin development.

NOTE: The SourceForge.net mailing lists have been deprecated in favor of this forum in order to expedite support and provide additional features not available on the old mailing list.

Nagios Upgrade

Postby aajewole » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:40 am

Hi, I will like to upgrade nagios from 4.1.1 to 4.3.1. We have a lot of custom plugin, commands, resources, nagios.cfg, cgi, eventhandler custom scripts, and scripts that change the notification to on-call staff per SQL database. I will like to keep all this custom features while done with the upgrade. What step do I need to take? Our nagios box is not connected to the internet to do wget, so will manually have to download and copy the source code to the box.

I have 1 production box, 1 backup box, and one dev box with same configuration so I can test the upgrade before actually doing it on production box.
aajewole
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 11:14 am

Re: Nagios Upgrade

Postby rkennedy » Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:02 pm

As long as you haven't made any custom changes to the actual Nagios Core components (just your object files as you described) - then you should be fine to upgrade.

https://assets.nagios.com/downloads/nag ... ading.html
rkennedy
 
Posts: 6562
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:45 am

Re: Nagios Upgrade

Postby dwhitfield » Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:22 pm

Are you using NDOUtils for your database? Are you using anything like mk-livestatus? Strictly speaking, what @rkennedy says is correct, but we have very little information about your setup at this point.
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
dwhitfield
The Doctor
 
Posts: 3756
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:29 am
Location: Nagios Enterprises, LLC

Re: Nagios Upgrade

Postby aajewole » Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:49 am

Thanks for the reply. No, we havent made any change to any nagios core components. No NDOUtils, we are using the native database, no mk-livestatus. I will say most of our custom changes were made to objects. Thanks
aajewole
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 11:14 am

Re: Nagios Upgrade

Postby mcapra » Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:35 pm

You should be fine to upgrade. Object definitions rarely cause issues unless you're switching major versions (eg 3.x to 4.x). If you have the option, I would recommend taking a VM level snapshot of your Nagios Core machine.
Former Nagios employee
http://www.mcapra.com/
User avatar
mcapra
 
Posts: 2773
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 3:54 pm

Re: Nagios Upgrade

Postby aajewole » Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:56 pm

Upgrade went fine and super easy, except on the web page, when I click on "Map" I get the following error message >

Not Found

The requested URL /nagios/map.html was not found on this server.

Other links work fine for now. Waiting for a week and will upgrade the other two box.
aajewole
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 11:14 am

Re: Nagios Upgrade

Postby cdienger » Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:02 pm

Thanks for the update. It looks like the link may be pointing to an old html file instead of the correct map.php?host=all. Please provide us with a copy of the /usr/local/nagios/share/side.php so that we can verify that link and the rest of the links.
User avatar
cdienger
Support Tech
 
Posts: 707
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:26 am

Re: Nagios Upgrade

Postby aajewole » Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:10 pm

Please see attached
Attachments
side.txt
side.php
(6.05 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
aajewole
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 11:14 am

Re: Nagios Upgrade

Postby mcapra » Thu Apr 06, 2017 11:10 am

Hmm, nothing strange in there. Can you share your apache configs? They may be redirecting that page incorrectly.

This should put them all in a tarball. Feel free to include any additional ones you think may be relevant:
Code: Select all
tar -cvf /tmp/43019_1.tar /etc/httpd/conf.d/
Former Nagios employee
http://www.mcapra.com/
User avatar
mcapra
 
Posts: 2773
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 3:54 pm

Re: Nagios Upgrade

Postby cdienger » Thu Apr 06, 2017 11:16 am

The source looks good. The browser may be caching an old page or Apache possibly hanging on to something. Try restarting Apache with "service httpd restart" and clearing your browser's cache as well. If that doesn't work, as a work around you should be able to see the map if you go to http://nagiosip/nagios/map.php?host=all. You can also confirm the source code your browser is getting by going to http://nagiosip/nagios/side.php and viewing the source code of that page.
User avatar
cdienger
Support Tech
 
Posts: 707
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:26 am

Next

Return to Nagios Core

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests