nagios 4.3.2 show "plugin timeout" instead of "packet loss"

An open discussion forum for obtaining help with Nagios Core. Nagios Core users of all experience levels are welcome here. Subforum have been created for the discussion of Nagios Core and Nagios Plugin development.

NOTE: The SourceForge.net mailing lists have been deprecated in favor of this forum in order to expedite support and provide additional features not available on the old mailing list.

nagios 4.3.2 show "plugin timeout" instead of "packet loss"

Postby asiansuntrading » Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:15 am

hi

We have latest version of nagios core but nagios display "plugin timeout" error instead of "packet loss" error in "Service Problems".
What is your approach?

thanks
asiansuntrading
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:23 pm

Re: nagios 4.3.2 show "plugin timeout" instead of "packet lo

Postby eloyd » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:13 am

Plugin timeout means that the plugin did not return a result in the timeout window allowed by Nagios (default is 60 seconds for a service). It is possible that your plugin has its own timeout that's longer than this, thus Nagios stops listening after 60 seconds and displyas "plugin timeout" because it gets no response from the plugin within 60 seconds, even though the plugin would eventually return its own error message.
Image
Eric Loyd • http://everwatch.global • 844.240.EVER • @EricLoydI'm a Nagios Fanatic!
User avatar
eloyd
Cool Title Here
 
Posts: 1857
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:14 am
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: nagios 4.3.2 show "plugin timeout" instead of "packet lo

Postby tmcdonald » Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:40 am

Thanks for the assist, @eloyd!
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
tmcdonald
Support Lead / Operations Engineer
 
Posts: 8699
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:40 am

Re: nagios 4.3.2 show "plugin timeout" instead of "packet lo

Postby asiansuntrading » Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:49 pm

hi

How can I fix it?
asiansuntrading
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:23 pm

Re: nagios 4.3.2 show "plugin timeout" instead of "packet lo

Postby tgriep » Mon Jul 10, 2017 1:25 pm

Can you post how the command is defined so we can verify that the settings are correct?
If you are using the check_ping plugin for that service, it will not return a packet loss message but the check_icmp plugin will if it cannot connect to the remote system.
Change your service to use the check_icmp instead.
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
tgriep
Madmin
 
Posts: 6086
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:02 am

Re: nagios 4.3.2 show "plugin timeout" instead of "packet lo

Postby asiansuntrading » Mon Jul 10, 2017 11:05 pm

hi
Yes, we use the check_ping command but before than we upgrade our nagios core to 4.3.2, this plugin returns us packet loss 100% items...
Code: Select all
$USER1$/check_ping -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -w $ARG1$ -c $ARG2$ -p 5
asiansuntrading
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:23 pm

Re: nagios 4.3.2 show "plugin timeout" instead of "packet lo

Postby tgriep » Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:49 am

There are a few things you can do.
1. Change to the check_icmp plugin.
2. Downgrade the check_ping plugin to an older version which worked the way you want.
3. Fill in a bug report at the link below to get the check_ping bug fixed.
https://github.com/nagios-plugins/nagios-plugins/issues
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
tgriep
Madmin
 
Posts: 6086
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:02 am

Re: nagios 4.3.2 show "plugin timeout" instead of "packet lo

Postby asiansuntrading » Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:55 am

thanks alot
asiansuntrading
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:23 pm

Re: nagios 4.3.2 show "plugin timeout" instead of "packet lo

Postby tgriep » Wed Jul 12, 2017 10:21 am

Your welcome.
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
tgriep
Madmin
 
Posts: 6086
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:02 am


Return to Nagios Core

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 21 guests