Nagios plug-in

An open discussion forum for obtaining help with Nagios Core. Nagios Core users of all experience levels are welcome here. Subforum have been created for the discussion of Nagios Core and Nagios Plugin development.

NOTE: The SourceForge.net mailing lists have been deprecated in favor of this forum in order to expedite support and provide additional features not available on the old mailing list.

Nagios plug-in

Postby Wolfyy6 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:15 am

Hello,
I have recently discovered "Nagios" and I'm using it for supervision. The thing is I need to monitor the bandwidth in a company..
I have understood that I need to install a plug-in capable of doing that, well does anyone have a plug in that actually works while integrated, I've tried something like 2 or 3 plugs in but none of them gave me a good result..
Thank's a lot..
Wolfyy6
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:09 am

Re: Nagios plug-in

Postby tmcdonald » Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:21 am

Which product are you using? You're posting in the Network Analyzer section but it sounds like you are asking about XI or maybe Core. Please clarify so we can move this to the proper section and provide correct information.
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
tmcdonald
Support Manager
 
Posts: 8550
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:40 am

Re: Nagios plug-in

Postby Wolfyy6 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:13 am

I'm using the Nagios 4.0.8
Wolfyy6
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:09 am

Re: Nagios plug-in

Postby lmiltchev » Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:17 am

What are the plugins that you have tried already? Can you elaborate on "none of them gave me a good result"? How the results that you receive vary from the ones that you expect to receive?
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
lmiltchev
QA Manager
 
Posts: 9346
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:15 pm

Re: Nagios plug-in

Postby Wolfyy6 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:24 am

I have found those in "Nagios exchange"
check_iftraffic64.pl
check_ifutil_v0.2.pl
as I tried them, I had that error after the pending moment : ( "No output on stdout" stderr )
I am using the NagVis plateform and I'm working on ubuntu, the computers I want to "monitor" OS's are windows 7/8/10..
Wolfyy6
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:09 am

Re: Nagios plug-in

Postby lmiltchev » Tue Jul 11, 2017 1:14 pm

Have you enabled SNMP on the Windows box? Have you tried running the plugin from the command line?

I tried the "check_iftraffic64.pl" plugin against a Windows 7 box, and it seems to be working just fine. See below:

Code: Select all
# /usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_iftraffic64.pl -H x.x.x.x -C mycommunity
OK - Average IN: 7.14KB (0.01%), Average OUT: 13.42KB (0.01%)Total RX: 251.42MBytes, Total TX: 238.75MBytes|inUsage=0.01%;85;98 outUsage=0.01%;85;98 inBandwidth=7143.65B outBandwidth=13422.72B inAbsolut=251417620c outAbsolut=238752159c
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
lmiltchev
QA Manager
 
Posts: 9346
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:15 pm


Return to Nagios Core

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 13 guests