Page 1 of 1

check_procs plugin is not working over nrpe

Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:36 pm
by anusha
Hi,

I am trying to get the java process working on client. When I am trying to execute the plugin in client machine it is working fine whereas when I am trying to get the result over nrpe it is showing 0 processes with args 'java'.


I tried to change the configuration with below command but no luck.

./configure --enable-extra-opts=yes --with-ps-command="/bin/ps axwwo 'stat uid pid comm args'" --with-ps-format="%s %d %d %n %s" --with-ps-cols=5 --with-ps-varlist="procstat,&procuid,&procpid,&pos procargs"


Master: 11.4 (SuSe linux)
Client: 12.2 (SuSe linux)

Re: check_procs plugin is not working over nrpe

Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:22 pm
by npolovenko
Hello, @anusha.
Looks like your NRPE wasn't configured to accept command line arguments.
One way around this would be to manually change the check command in

Code: Select all

/usr/local/nagios/etc/nrpe.cfg
Uncomment this line:
command[check_procs]=/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_procs -w $ARG1$ -c $ARG2$
and change it to:
command[check_procs]=/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_procs -a 'java'

After that please restart nrpe with:
service nrpe restart
or
service xinetd restart
Depending on your system.

Re: check_procs plugin is not working over nrpe

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:03 am
by anusha
Hello @npolovenko

Thank you for your quick response. I have edited the nrpe.cfg file but still I am not getting the expected result. :?


PROCS CRITICAL: 0 processes with UID

Re: check_procs plugin is not working over nrpe

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 1:19 pm
by npolovenko
@anusha, Ok, please change your command inside nrpe.cfg to:

Code: Select all

command[check_procs]=/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_procs $ARG1$
Also in the same file please chnage dont_blame_nrpe=0 to dont_blame_nrpe=1.

After that please restart nrpe with:
service nrpe restart
or
service xinetd restart
Depending on your system.

When you actually run the check command against NRPE please use this syntax:

Code: Select all

/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_nrpe -H localhost -c check_procs -a '-w 10 -c 20 -a java'

If the above doesn't help please send the whole command that you're running against NRPE.

Re: check_procs plugin is not working over nrpe

Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:35 am
by anusha
@npolovenko

In nrpe.cfg I have added command[check_procs]=/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_procs $ARG1$

Can you please config=rm the below values in master server

command.cfg file:
define command{
command_name check_local_procs
command_line $USER1$/check_procs -a $ARG1$
}


server file:

define service{
check_command check_procs -a '-c 1:4 -a java'
}

Re: check_procs plugin is not working over nrpe

Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:00 pm
by npolovenko
@anusha, The problem is that you were not using nrpe for your checks, but instead you were checking the same plugin locally. That's why you had 0 java processes.

For example, here command_line $USER1$/check_procs -a $ARG1$ $USER1$ is a macross that represents the path on your local system /usr/local/nagios/libexec/.

Now let's fix the configs to actually use NRPE:

1. Your command in nrpe.cfg file on nrpe server looks fine. Leave it as it is.


Next steps you need to perform on a nagios server:
1. Navigate to /usr/local/nagios/etc/objects/

2. In the commands.cfg you need to change:

Code: Select all

define command{
command_name check_local_procs
command_line $USER1$/check_procs -a $ARG1$
}
to

Code: Select all

define command{
 command_name check_nrpe
 command_line $USER1$/check_nrpe -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -c $ARG1$
}
3. In templates.cfg add this new template(insert this in host templates section):

Code: Select all

define host{
name linux-box ; Name of this template
use generic-host ; Inherit default values
check_period 24x7
check_interval 5
retry_interval 1
max_check_attempts 10
check_command check-host-alive
notification_period 24x7
notification_interval 30
notification_options d,r
contact_groups admins
register 0 ; DONT REGISTER THIS - ITS A TEMPLATE
}

4. Now create a new file newhost.cfg. in /usr/local/nagios/etc/objects/
Insert there:

Code: Select all

define host{
use linux-box
host_name test-server
alias NRPE server testing
address paste_your_nrpe_server_IP_here
}

Code: Select all

define service{
use generic-service
host_name test-server
service_description Check Java Processes
check_command check_nrpe!check_procs -a '-w 10 -c 20 -a java'
}
5. Navigate to /usr/local/nagios/etc/nagios.cfg and import this new config:

Code: Select all

 cfg_file=/usr/local/nagios/etc/objects/newhost.cfg
6. Restart nagios with service nagios restart


***PS On your nagios server make sure that you have check_nrpe plugin in /usr/local/nagios/libexec/
And if you don't please refer to the following manual to install it:
https://assets.nagios.com/downloads/nag ... e/NRPE.pdf
Page 9.

Re: check_procs plugin is not working over nrpe

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:13 am
by anusha
Thank you @npolovenko. It is working fine......:) :)

Re: check_procs plugin is not working over nrpe

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:50 am
by npolovenko
@anusha , Great! ;) I'll close this thread as resolved but if you'll have other questions go ahead and open a new one.