Need some help for removing hosts in Nagios Core

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
sandeep027

Need some help for removing hosts in Nagios Core

Post by sandeep027 »

Hi All,

I am new to nagios and I need some help for removing hosts in Nagios core.

I am using nagios core monitoring tool and we are going to decommissioning the few servers.

so i need to remove those servers from nagios monitoring tool.

could you please help on this.

Regards,
Sandeep.
tmcdonald

Re: Need some help for removing hosts in Nagios Core

Post by tmcdonald »

What specifically do you need help with? Removing hosts and services in Core is as simple as editing or deleting the config files they reside in.
Former Nagios employee
sandeep027

Post by sandeep027 »

Thank you for responding donald. I want to remove the 2 hosts and services from nagios.

i have tried to commented out in nrpe.cfg files, but its not working and i thought that this is not the right way .

can you please help on that ,where i have to delete that config files.
tmcdonald

Post by tmcdonald »

You need to remove them from the nagios-specific config files, not the nrpe-specific config files. I can't tell you what they are named because I did not set up your system, but whoever set the system up should be able to point you in the right direction. Usually they are in /usr/local/nagios/etc/ or /etc/nagios/.
Former Nagios employee
sandeep027

Post by sandeep027 »

@Donald, for us there is no nagios folders under /usr/local or /etc/

Actually we have one physical server is there and all the hosts are configured in this server. so on this serer when i executed the command
ps -ef | grep -i nagios its showing as below

/tool/nagios/bin/nagios -d /tool/nagios/etc/nagios.cfg
/tool/nagios/bin/nagios --worker /tool/nagios/var/rw/nagios.qh
/tool/nagiosNRPE/bin/nrpe -d -c /tool/nagiosNRPE/etc/nrpe.cfg