NRPE: unable to read output.

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
Ravikimt
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 12:02 pm

Re: NRPE: unable to read output.

Post by Ravikimt »

As you have suggested I added echo $pid in my check_node script but same thing not getting any output.
I restarted nrpe service also after making the changes in the script

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

#Mentioned valid service name
service=node

#Checking for service pid value
pid=`ps -ef | grep -v grep | grep -i $service | wc -l`

case $pid in
[2]*)

echo $pid
echo "OK - $service is running" 
exit 0
;;

[0]*)

echo $pid
echo "CRITICAL -$service is not running"
exit 2
;;

[1]*)

echo $pid
echo "WARNING -$service Please check the service"
exit 1
;;

esac
I tried with this command also but doesn't help.

Code: Select all

sudo su nagios -c /usr/local/nagios/libexec/node_check
Last edited by Ravikimt on Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ravikimt
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 12:02 pm

Re: NRPE: unable to read output.

Post by Ravikimt »

Sorry I have mentioned wrong variable in my code instead of var i am using pid var only so ignore that var in check_node
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: NRPE: unable to read output.

Post by scottwilkerson »

Change it to this

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

#Mentioned valid service name
service=node

#Checking for service pid value
var=`ps -ef | grep -v grep | grep -i $service | wc -l`

echo $var

case $var in
[2]*)


echo "OK - $service is running"
exit 0
;;

[0]*)

echo $pid
echo "CRITICAL -$service is not running"
exit 2
;;

[1]*)

echo $pid
echo "WARNING -$service Please check the service"
exit 1
;;

esac
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
Ravikimt
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 12:02 pm

Re: NRPE: unable to read output.

Post by Ravikimt »

Yes, I have changed the script now I am getting the correct output

Code: Select all

bash /usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_node
4
OK -node is running
tell me the next step what I have to do.?
Ravikimt
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 12:02 pm

Re: NRPE: unable to read output.

Post by Ravikimt »

I resolved the issue thanks a lot man you are genius man .
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: NRPE: unable to read output.

Post by scottwilkerson »

Ravikimt wrote:I resolved the issue thanks a lot man you are genius man .
Excellent!

Glad we could help. Locking thread
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
Locked