Nagios XI and Nagvis Issues

An open discussion forum for obtaining help with Nagios Core. Nagios Core users of all experience levels are welcome here. Subforum have been created for the discussion of Nagios Core and Nagios Plugin development.

NOTE: The SourceForge.net mailing lists have been deprecated in favor of this forum in order to expedite support and provide additional features not available on the old mailing list.

Nagios XI and Nagvis Issues

Postby Christopheric1 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 1:48 pm

I have Nagios XI Version 5.4.13 and it had NagVis 1.5.9. I needed some of the features in NagVis 1.8.1 and up so I decided to upgrade it to the latest 1.9.8. Ever since then, I have had a lot of weird errors on creating maps and the editing of the maps. I was told from support that it is getting integrated into the latest version of Nagios, but until then I need a solution to get my maps working as we use it for monitoring our infrastructure.

Any help getting this to work, or even on how to downgrade it again would be extremely helpful. I can't do a restore on it since I have done a lot of things after the fact that I don't want to have to redo again.

Thanks,
Christopheric1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 6:06 pm

Re: Nagios XI and Nagvis Issues

Postby tgriep » Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:22 pm

Can you post a screen capture of the errors that you are having when you are creating or editing the maps in Nagvis?
When you see an error, check the Apache log files in the /var/log/httpd folder and post them here so we can see the errors.
I would guess that you may not be able to downgrade Nagvis as the config files and options would not be compatible.
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.

Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
tgriep
Madmin
 
Posts: 6757
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:02 am

Re: Nagios XI and Nagvis Issues

Postby Christopheric1 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:43 pm

I didn't see any errors when I try and click on the map I created. It is just blank. I have attached a couple pictures of settings and also the blank part.
Attachments
Map_Error.PNG
Map Settings
error.PNG
Blank Error
Christopheric1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 6:06 pm

Re: Nagios XI and Nagvis Issues

Postby tgriep » Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:46 am

First thing to try is to re-add the image and see if that fixes the issue.

Then run this as root on the Nagios server.
Code: Select all
tail -f /var/log/httpd/*_log


View the Nagvis page and if you see any errors in the tail screen, post them here.
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.

Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
tgriep
Madmin
 
Posts: 6757
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:02 am

Re: Nagios XI and Nagvis Issues

Postby Christopheric1 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:04 am

The first weird thing is that if I change the map to none, it will still show the map as what it is currently. I have to go into the config under /usr/local/nagvis/etc/maps/map.cfg and it has multiple entries in there with all the settings I changed. I have to delete all of them except for the one that I want. I can then refresh the map and it will show the right settings.

I didn't get anything from the error logs
Christopheric1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 6:06 pm

Re: Nagios XI and Nagvis Issues

Postby tgriep » Mon Jun 11, 2018 4:26 pm

I tried to see if I could replicate what you are seeing and I could not.
I am running a different version than you are so there may be some bug fixes which is why I don't see the issue.
Are you creating a new map or are you copying an existing one that has the multiple entries?
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.

Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
tgriep
Madmin
 
Posts: 6757
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:02 am

Re: Nagios XI and Nagvis Issues

Postby Christopheric1 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 4:58 pm

It is for a brand new map and it happens to the existing ones as well. My Nagios XI version is 5.4.13 and I separately updated my NagVis to 1.9.8 before I knew it was going to cause this big of an issue.
Christopheric1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 6:06 pm

Re: Nagios XI and Nagvis Issues

Postby tgriep » Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:22 pm

I think I finally recreated the issue.
Try this, edit the Map and uncheck the Zoom option. Save it out and re-click on the Map Link to refresh the page.
Does the image show up?
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.

Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
tgriep
Madmin
 
Posts: 6757
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:02 am

Re: Nagios XI and Nagvis Issues

Postby Christopheric1 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:33 pm

I had to go to my .cfg file and edit it as everytime I make a change within Nagvis in Nagios XI, it creates a whole new "Global" config under the one I have. I deleted the old one and then refreshed my Nagvis and it did show up! I am not sure what else to do about my extra configs every time I make a change though.
Christopheric1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 6:06 pm

Re: Nagios XI and Nagvis Issues

Postby tgriep » Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:25 pm

Can you provide the steps you are taking when you create a new map?
Also, can you post the map config file here before you edit it?
Thanks.
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.

Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
tgriep
Madmin
 
Posts: 6757
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:02 am

Next

Return to Nagios Core

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], scottwilkerson and 15 guests