How to monitor bandwidth

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
Locked
shubham
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:44 am

How to monitor bandwidth

Post by shubham »

Moderator, split from this thread as it is a different topic
https://support.nagios.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=50418


Hello ,
thank you for your replies.
if i need to monitor bandwidth of an interface in nagios.how to do it.
is there any plugin to do that.
Or use snmp mib ifspeed/ifhighspeed.

if i use ifspeed ,does ifspeed tell the current bandwidth.
because it is easy to use ifspeed/ifhighspeed mibs against a command rather than installing a third party plugin.

thanks.
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: How to monitor bandwidth

Post by scottwilkerson »

you will need a plugin because the interface OID's you reference are just counters and do not know what it was at last check and how often

there are many plugins here:
https://exchange.nagios.org/directory/P ... -Bandwidth

but one that is popular is
http://nagios.manubulon.com/snmp_int.html
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
shubham
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:44 am

Re: How to monitor bandwidth

Post by shubham »

Hi all,
Please help me on this.
whenever i do snmpwalk i am able to fetch bunch f information from a devices in form of mibs but whenever i do an an snmpwalk on UCD snmp mibs i did not get any data but a statement which says that mib tree ends here.
here is the sample output doing a snmpwalk on windows server configured with a snmp string

[root@in2-noisr-nms1 ~]# snmpwalk -v2c -c WEx2q342 172.16.10.62 1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.4.3
UCD-SNMP-MIB::memTotalSwap = No more variables left in this MIB View (It is past the end of the MIB tree)

Kindly suggest its an issue from device end or in my snmpd.conf file which require some changes .
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: How to monitor bandwidth

Post by scottwilkerson »

It is possible that your server doesn't have this OID

Can you perform the walk from further up the tree? Such as

Code: Select all

snmpwalk -v2c -c WEx2q342 172.16.10.62 1.3.6.1.4.1.2021
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
shubham
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:44 am

Re: How to monitor bandwidth

Post by shubham »

Hello ,
yes i tried that too but got the same error as above.
ssax
Dreams In Code
Posts: 7682
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: How to monitor bandwidth

Post by ssax »

What about if you specify the UCD MIB?

Code: Select all

snmpwalk -m UCD-SNMP-MIB -v2c -c WEx2q342 172.16.10.62 1.3.6.1.4.1.2021
shubham
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:44 am

Re: How to monitor bandwidth

Post by shubham »

Hello,
got the same result
[root@in2-noisr-nms1 ~]# snmpwalk -m UCD-SNMP-MIB -v2c -c WEx2q342 172.16.10.62 1.3.6.1.4.1.2021
UCD-SNMP-MIB::ucdavis = No more variables left in this MIB View (It is past the end of the MIB tree)
ssax
Dreams In Code
Posts: 7682
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: How to monitor bandwidth

Post by ssax »

Is SNMP configured properly on the system? Please read here for an explanation of the error:

Code: Select all

https://stackoverflow.com/a/21368235
Locked