Error Nagios plugin vmware

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
alex3105
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:54 am

Error Nagios plugin vmware

Post by alex3105 »

Dear,

I have Nagios Core 4.4.1 installed in Centos 7 with which I want to monitor Dell and Cisco servers which host virtual servers. These teams are in vcenter, I have tried to monitor them but I have errors so I would appreciate your help.

With the plugin check_vmware_api.pl I have the error (Return code of 255 for service 'VMware CPU Usage' on host 'Blade1' was out of bounds)
and with the other plugin check_esx and I have another error Usage: check_esx -D <data_center>

This is the content of my file resource.cfg

# Sets $USER1$ to be the path to the plugins
$USER1$=/usr/local/nagios/libexec

# Sets $USER2$ to be the path to event handlers
#$USER2$=/usr/local/nagios/libexec/eventhandlers

# Store some usernames and passwords (hidden from the CGIs)
$USER11$=root
$USER12$=Passw0rd

I would appreciate your support to solve it

Best regards.
Attachments
vmware.cfg
(1.26 KiB) Downloaded 299 times
commands.cfg
(9.79 KiB) Downloaded 310 times
a.JPG
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Error Nagios plugin vmware

Post by scottwilkerson »

So here is the service definition

Code: Select all

define service{
#        use					generic-service
		use						generic-service
		hostgroup_name			vmware-esx
		service_description		VMware CPU Usage
		check_command			check_vmware_api_dc_host_cpu_usage!90!95
		}
Which would execute this command

Code: Select all

define command{
  command_name check_vmware_api_dc_host_cpu_usage
  command_line $USER1$/check_vmware_api.pl -u $USER11$ -p $USER12$ -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -l cpu -s usage -w $ARG2$ -c $ARG3$
}
Your command

Code: Select all

check_command			check_vmware_api_dc_host_cpu_usage!90!95
has an $ARG1$ and $ARG2$ but NOT and $ARG3$

So this would be the command executed which would error

Code: Select all

/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_vmware_api.pl  -u root -p Passw0rd -H IP_ADDRESS -l cpu -s usage -w 90 -c
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
alex3105
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:54 am

Re: Error Nagios plugin vmware

Post by alex3105 »

Sorry Scottwilkerson ... I do not understand what you wrote ..
npolovenko
Support Tech
Posts: 3457
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 5:00 pm

Re: Error Nagios plugin vmware

Post by npolovenko »

In this statement, you're calling the check_vmware_api_dc_host_cpu_usage command, then you're passing 90 as $ARG1$ and 95 as $ARG2$.
check_vmware_api_dc_host_cpu_usage!90!95
According to your command, 95 will go after -w, and there's no argument after -c
-w $ARG2$ -c $ARG3$
Please run the following command from the command line and show me the output. Don't forget to replace the hostname and the password.
/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_vmware_api.pl -u root -p password -H hostname -l cpu -s usage -w 90 -c 95
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
alex3105
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:54 am

Re: Error Nagios plugin vmware

Post by alex3105 »

Here is the result:

[root@localhost libexec]# ./check_vmware_api.pl -u root -p Passw0rd -H 192.168.32.7 -l cpu -s usage -w 90 -c 95
CHECK_VMWARE_API.PL OK - cpu usage=1.82 % | cpu_usage=1.82%;90;95
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Error Nagios plugin vmware

Post by scottwilkerson »

To resolve the issue change this

Code: Select all

check_command         check_vmware_api_dc_host_cpu_usage!90!95
to this

Code: Select all

check_command         check_vmware_api_dc_host_cpu_usage!!90!95
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
alex3105
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:54 am

Re: Error Nagios plugin vmware

Post by alex3105 »

Dear Scott, after making the suggested changes, the error appeared:Socket timeout after 60 seconds

But following the same case, try to solve it in another way so I would appreciate your support. I decided to investigate how to monitor my servers using the attached link, basically what I want to monitor is the state of the network interfaces. It should be noted that by the Vsphere Client I visualize that each team has two physical NICs, however they list me 6

https://www.vcloudnine.de/how-to-monito ... with-snmp/

[root@localhost libexec]# snmpwalk -O fn -m ALL -c public -v 2c mi_ip_adress IF-MIB::ifDescr
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.2.1 = STRING: Device vmnic0 at 06:00.0 enic
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.2.2 = STRING: Device vmnic1 at 07:00.0 enic
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.2.3 = STRING: Traditional Virtual VMware switch: vSwitch0
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.2.4 = STRING: Traditional Virtual VMware switch: vSwitch1
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.2.5 = STRING: Virtual interface: vmk0 on vswitch vSwitch0 portgroup: Management Network
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.2.6 = STRING: Virtual interface: vmk1 on vswitch vSwitch1 portgroup: vMotion

[root@localhost libexec]# snmpwalk -O fn -m ALL -c public -v 2c mi_ip_adress IF-MIB::ifOperStatus
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.8.1 = INTEGER: up(1)
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.8.2 = INTEGER: up(1)
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.8.3 = INTEGER: up(1)
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.8.4 = INTEGER: up(1)
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.8.5 = INTEGER: up(1)
.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.8.6 = INTEGER: up(1)

Then with the following command I got two interfaces

[root@localhost libexec]# snmpwalk -O fn -m ALL -c belice -v 2c 10.1.100.120 HOST-RESOURCES-MIB::hrDeviceStatus
HOST-RESOURCES-MIB::hrDeviceDescr.58 = STRING: NIC vmnic0, driver enic, version 2.3.0.10, 0000:006:00.0
HOST-RESOURCES-MIB::hrDeviceDescr.59 = STRING: NIC vmnic1, driver enic, version 2.3.0.10, 0000:007:00.0

snmpwalk -m ALL -c belice -v 2c 10.1.100.120 HOST-RESOURCES-MIB::hrDeviceStatus

HOST-RESOURCES-MIB::hrDeviceStatus.58 = INTEGER: unknown(1)
HOST-RESOURCES-MIB::hrDeviceStatus.59 = INTEGER: unknown(1)

My query is: The commands would be well defined taking into account the first results seen, unfortunately I can not turn off the equipment because it is in production.


define command{
command_name check_vmware_int1
command_line $USER1$/check_snmp -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -C $ARG1$ --oid ifOperStatus.1
}

define command{
command_name check_vmware_int2
command_line $USER1$/check_snmp -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -C $ARG1$ --oid ifOperStatus.2
}
Attachments
111.JPG
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Error Nagios plugin vmware

Post by scottwilkerson »

This looks correct, it is likely vmnic0 and vmnic1 that you want to monitor. The others are virtual switch and management interfaces.
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
alex3105
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:54 am

Re: Error Nagios plugin vmware

Post by alex3105 »

It is correct, I want to monitor the state of the physical interfaces.
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Error Nagios plugin vmware

Post by scottwilkerson »

alex3105 wrote:It is correct, I want to monitor the state of the physical interfaces.
May we close the thread?
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
Locked