Ping check issue

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
Locked
kwhogster
Posts: 644
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 6:51 pm
Location: Wood Ridge NJ USA
Contact:

Ping check issue

Post by kwhogster »

Nagios Core 4.3.4

Having a minor issue with PING check on one host The Host is my vCenter appliance

Code: Select all

define service{
        use                             local-service
        host_name                       hostname
        service_description             PING
        check_command                   check_ping!100.0,20%!500.0,60%
        }
[code]


PING     WARNING 11-02-2018 21:39:08 0d 0h 16m 45s 4/4 PING WARNING - Packet loss = 0%, RTA = 118.81 ms 

From My desktop

[codePinging host-vc[10.2.8.11] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.2.8.11: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.2.8.11: bytes=32 time=121ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.2.8.11: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.2.8.11: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 10.2.8.11:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 57ms, Maximum = 121ms, Average = 93ms]


Any ideas?
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Ping check issue

Post by scottwilkerson »

From your nagios server it is seeing slightly higher RTA at 118.81 ms
kwhogster wrote:

Code: Select all

PING     WARNING 11-02-2018 21:39:08 0d 0h 16m 45s 4/4 PING WARNING - Packet loss = 0%, RTA = 118.81 ms
If this is normal you may want to increase the warning time to 200 as an example

Code: Select all

check_command                   check_ping!200.0,20%!500.0,60%
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
kwhogster
Posts: 644
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 6:51 pm
Location: Wood Ridge NJ USA
Contact:

Re: Ping check issue

Post by kwhogster »

still having the issue

PING WARNING 11-13-2018 13:18:02 0d 1h 22m 9s 4/4 PING WARNING - Packet loss = 0%, RTA = 132.10 ms
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Ping check issue

Post by scottwilkerson »

kwhogster wrote:still having the issue

PING WARNING 11-13-2018 13:18:02 0d 1h 22m 9s 4/4 PING WARNING - Packet loss = 0%, RTA = 132.10 ms
what is your current check_command definition?
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
kwhogster
Posts: 644
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 6:51 pm
Location: Wood Ridge NJ USA
Contact:

Re: Ping check issue

Post by kwhogster »

OOPS

check_ping!100.0,20%!500.0,60%

I forgot to change it.
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Ping check issue

Post by scottwilkerson »

As I stated before
scottwilkerson wrote: If this is normal you may want to increase the warning time to 200 as an example

Code: Select all

check_command                   check_ping!200.0,20%!500.0,60%
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
kwhogster
Posts: 644
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 6:51 pm
Location: Wood Ridge NJ USA
Contact:

Re: Ping check issue

Post by kwhogster »

Scott

I made the correction.

Then I went on to my vCenter and found all my nics reverted back to 100 MBs they were at 1000 MBs
My Cisco switch set all the ports to 100 MBs they all were 1000 before then when we looked at the config it only supports 10/100 do not know how everything was 1 GBs and now only 100
waiting on a replacement switch

Will post after that change is made.

Thanks
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Ping check issue

Post by scottwilkerson »

kwhogster wrote:Scott

I made the correction.

Then I went on to my vCenter and found all my nics reverted back to 100 MBs they were at 1000 MBs
My Cisco switch set all the ports to 100 MBs they all were 1000 before then when we looked at the config it only supports 10/100 do not know how everything was 1 GBs and now only 100
waiting on a replacement switch

Will post after that change is made.

Thanks
Thanks for the update!
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
Locked