Difference between 'CURRENT SERVICE STATE' & 'SERVICE ALERT'

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
maheshrm

Difference between 'CURRENT SERVICE STATE' & 'SERVICE ALERT'

Post by maheshrm »

Hi,

I am a newbie to Nagios. I googled quite a bit and read documents related to states, notifications and so on. But I did not find answer for my questions.
Could you please help me understand the difference between 'CURRENT SERVICE STATE' & 'SERVICE ALERT'.

Background:
In our Nagios screen all the hosts and their related services are displayed properly. We are planning to use nagios.log for additional tasks.

In nagios.log file, I see that there is CURRENT SERVICE STATE and SERVICE ALERT log lines which contain the necessary information that we need.
I have few questions.
  • 1. What is the difference between 'CURRENT SERVICE STATE' & 'SERVICE ALERT'?
    2. Deep diving into the log file, i noticed that CURRENT SERVICE STATE is logged only once at 00:00 AM. Where as the SERVICE ALERT is logged randomly (There is no constant time gap between log entries for a particular Service Check)
    3. Even though the checks are scheduled to run every 5 minutes, the status.dat file has entries every few seconds. This makes it hard to achieve what we need. Since single service check run info is logged multiple times.
    4. Sometimes tail -f on nagios.log stops the log file from updating further. What could be the reason for this?
    5. In one setup nagios.log file is updated every 10 minutes and in one setup it is very random. IS there any configuration to handle the update schedule?
Thanks,
Mahesh
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer

Re: Difference between 'CURRENT SERVICE STATE' & 'SERVICE AL

Post by scottwilkerson »