Page 1 of 1

Invalid IPv6 address

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 5:52 am
by rlinux57
Hi Team,

I have run nrpe through xinetd and it's working perfectly, But i got below error message in /var/log/messages very frequently. Please help me to sort out this issue.

Code: Select all

nrpe[2724]: Invalid IPv6 address in ACL: localhost
Regards,
rlinux57

Re: Invalid IPv6 address

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 5:40 pm
by ssax
What is the output of this command:

Code: Select all

cat /etc/xinetd.d/nrpe
Additionally, what version of NRPE are you running on that server?

Code: Select all

/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_nrpe -V
Thank you

Re: Invalid IPv6 address

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:53 am
by rlinux57
Hi,

I am using NRPE v2.15 at client machine. And NRPE v3.2.1 on NMS server. How could i get rid off this issue ?
cat /etc/xinetd.d/nrpe

service nrpe
{
flags = REUSE
socket_type = stream
port = 5666
wait = no
user = nagios
group = nagios
server = /usr/local/nagios/bin/nrpe
server_args = -c /usr/local/nagios/etc/nrpe.cfg --inetd
log_on_failure += USERID
log_type = FILE /var/log/nrpelog
disable = no
only_from = 127.0.0.1 NMSIP1 NMSIP2 NMSIP3
}

Re: Invalid IPv6 address

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:11 pm
by npolovenko
@rlinux57, There was an issue with IPv6 addresses not resolving correctly on the NRPE v2.x. This issue was fixed in the nrpe v3.0 release.
https://github.com/NagiosEnterprises/nrpe/issues/31
So upgrading the client agent should fix the issue.

But also, you can try editing the check_nrpe command on the XI server by adding the -4 flag to force ipv4 connections.
$USER1$/check_nrpe -4 -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -t 30 -c $ARG1$ $ARG2$
Let me know if it fixes your issue.

Re: Invalid IPv6 address

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:25 am
by rlinux57
Hi,

It's fixed by changing allowed_hosts=localhost to 127.0.0.1 and restart xinetd service. Kindly let me know How to upgrade NRPE v2.15 to NRPE v3.2.1

Regards,
rlinux57

Re: Invalid IPv6 address

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:28 pm
by npolovenko
@rlinux57, This depends on how the NRPE agent was installed. If it was a source install I recommend uninstalling the old agent and reinstalling the new one:
https://support.nagios.com/kb/article/n ... e-741.html
https://support.nagios.com/kb/article.php?id=515
Make a backup copy of the /usr/local/nagios/etc/nrpe.cfg file somewhere on the server. That way you won't have to define commands again after you install the new agent. (You can copy-paste them from the old file)