Error: Could not read object configuration data!

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
Tettehp

Post by Tettehp »

Hi, I have a problem that I have no idea how to progress. I am new to Nagios so I was hoping that you guys might be able to help me out. I am working with Nagios Core 4.4.3 (the free version). When I put 7000 records in the hosts.cfg file, it works fine and it displays the servers on the web interface. We have a total of about 16,000 servers we will be monitoring. When I load all 16,000, and run the Nagios Config Checker (/usr/local/nagios/bin/nagios -v /usr/local/nagios/etc/nagios.cfg) it says 'Things look okay'. I then restart the Nagios service and everything is fine, but when I go to the Nagios web portal it gives me the Error.....

(Whoops! 
Here are some things you should check in order to resolve this error: 
Verify configuration options using the -v command-line option to check for errors.  
Check the Nagios log file for messages relating to startup or status data errors. 
Make sure you read the documentation on installing, configuring and running Nagios thoroughly before continuing. If all else fails, try sending a message to one of the mailing lists. More information can be found at https://www.nagios.org.) 

I dialed the records back to 7600 and it worked fine. When I increased the records to 7700, I got the error page. I dialed it back to 7600 and still got the error page. When I dialed it back to 7500, it worked fine.

I had initially thought that there might have been a hard limit set somewhere in the Nagios configuration files but since the limit seemed to fluctuate between 7500 and 7600 records for our Nagios install, could it be a resources issue? I am completely stumped and I would appreciate any help in figuring this out.
benjaminsmith

Re: Error: Could not read object configuration data!