New to Nagios, migrated an instance

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
Zippyduda

New to Nagios, migrated an instance

Post by Zippyduda »

Hello all :)

First time poster! I'm new to Nagios but have just migrated an instance from 4.1.1, Ubuntu 12 to 4.4.5, Ubuntu 18.
The instance uses adagios and pnp4nagios additionally.

I've ran into two issues, likely due to not understanding how Nagios reads it's config files:

Code: Select all

root@hostname:/etc/adagiosconf/objects# /usr/local/nagios/bin/nagios -v /usr/local/nagios/etc/nagios.cfg

Nagios Core 4.4.5
Copyright (c) 2009-present Nagios Core Development Team and Community Contributors
Copyright (c) 1999-2009 Ethan Galstad
Last Modified: 2019-08-20
License: GPL

Reading configuration data...
   Read main config file okay...
Warning: Duplicate definition found for contact 'generic-contact' (config file '/etc/adagiosconf/objects/templates.cfg', starting on line 27)
Error: Could not add object property in file '/etc/adagiosconf/objects/templates.cfg' on line 28.
Error: Could not register host (config file '/etc/adagiosconf/objects/switch.cfg', starting on line 20)
   Error processing object config files!

***> One or more problems was encountered while processing the config files...

Check your configuration file(s) to ensure that they contain valid
     directives and data definitions.  If you are upgrading from a previous
     version of Nagios, you should be aware that some variables/definitions
     may have been removed or modified in this version.  Make sure to read
     the HTML documentation regarding the config files, as well as the
     'Whats New' section to find out what has changed.
Here are the lines it is complaining about:

templates.cfg Lines 27 and 28

define contact{
        name                            generic-contact         ; The name of this contact template