Noob Q: Which remote monitoring model?

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
HankB

Noob Q: Which remote monitoring model?

Post by HankB »

Hi all,
Noob here (WRT Nagios, been managing my Linux hosts for decades now.) I'm just starting to deploy Nagios Core to monitor stuff on my home LAN that I'm getting tired of doing manually (and with the fear that I'll overlook something that will hurt.) Here are some of the things I'd like to watch:
  • HDD/SSD status as revealed by SMART data
  • Filesystem parameters such as capacity, RAID issues and so on. (I'm using ZFS on my file server and laptop and desktop.)
  • Problems such as excessive processor/RAM use.
  • Problems such as a host that goes AWOL. In this regard I have a handful of Raspberry Pi Zeroes monitoring sensors for stuff like temperature, humidity and so on. I've implemented MQTT Last Will and Testament to monitor their presence on my LAN but that means I have to check a page on my Home Assistant setup to see if they're all still there and reporting.
  • I'd consider monitoring some WiFi light bulbs and outlets since the App frequently tells me they're not available when I know they are.
Most hosts are Debian Linux or Raspberry Pi OS (R-Pi OS.) I'm running Nagios Core 4.4.7 in a Docker container in a Debian (AMD64) host. It's monitoring several other (remote) hosts via ping but I'd like more. Here is where I'm getting mired in the choices.

The first thing I ran across was NRPE. There is a package in the Debian and R-Pi OS repos for NRPE. But one of the documentation pages lists it as deprecated. Other documentation does not. If it is deprecated, I should probably go with something else, like NCPA.