How to Group by Application

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
dlausche

How to Group by Application

Post by dlausche »

I am new to Nagios and am trying to understand how I should use Nagios to group things by business application. I think it will be with either HostGroup or ServiceGroup but I am having difficulty understanding the intended purpose for these two grouping constructs. I will add here that in our previous monitoring tool the term 'Service' is used to identify a group of checks related to one defined business application. I think 'Service' in Nagios is not the same.

We will likely have many business applications monitored with Nagios and we would like to view status by business application. In addition these applications are each typically part of an application family so a parent-child type of relationship and grouping would be desirable if there is a way to do that.

Is it proper to group each application, and all the 'things' that make up said application using the "HostGroup" mechanism or should I be using "ServiceGroup" to do that? If it is appropriate to use HostGroup to define the applications, then what is the purpose of ServiceGroup?
slansing

Re: How to Group by Application

Post by slansing »

Hey, first of all welcome to the Nagios community!

As far as the "what are" host/service groups please visit these links:

Hostgroups: http://nagios.sourceforge.net/docs/3_0/ ... #hostgroup
Servicegroups: http://nagios.sourceforge.net/docs/3_0/ ... rvicegroup

In their most basic form they are exactly what you are looking for, a grouping of hosts or services used to simplify finding related hosts and services. I would also take a look at the "Business Process Intelligence addon" located at the link below:

http://exchange.nagios.org/directory/Ad ... 29/details

The standard grouping convention is as follows: