Problem with SNMP plugin

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
Locked
blinker86
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:08 pm

Problem with SNMP plugin

Post by blinker86 »

Hi
I'm newbie in using Nagios, I've just installed my first server and I'm doing my tests with my switches. But I have a problem when I want to check the status of the port:

(No output on stdout) stderr: execvp(/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_snmp, ...) failed. errno is 2: No such file or directory

I'm install the last plugins but the plugin check_snmp not appear.

Code: Select all

[root@tecmint nagios]# cd /root/nagios
[root@tecmint nagios]# cd nagios-plugins-2.0.3
[root@tecmint nagios]# ./configure --with-nagios-user=nagios --with-nagios-group=nagios
[root@tecmint nagios]# make
[root@tecmint nagios]# make install
Could you help me?
tmcdonald
Posts: 9117
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:40 am

Re: Problem with SNMP plugin

Post by tmcdonald »

I see you are on plugins v2.0.3. What OS and version is this running on? And what Nagios version?
Former Nagios employee
blinker86
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:08 pm

Re: Problem with SNMP plugin

Post by blinker86 »

I read about the problem and I solved the problem:
Hi
check_snmp is part of the nagios-plugins but it won't compile it if you don't have net-snmp, as indicated in the REQUIREMENTS file included with nagios-plugins...

Code: Select all

 
[root@localhost nagios-plugins-1.4.11]# cat REQUIREMENTS

    Nagios Plugin Requirements
    --------------------------

    Some plugins require that you have additional programs and/or
    libraries installed on your system before they can be used. Plugins
    that are dependent on other programs/libraries that are missing are
    usually not compiled. Requirements for various plugins are listed
    below...
    ...
    check_snmp:
    - Requires the NET-SNMP package available from
    http://net-snmp.sourceforge.net/
    ...
    .
Install net-snmp and recompile the plugins, then you should have check_snmp.
Now I have othe problem. I need to check my switch Cisco SG300-52 but I have the following error when I want to see the status:

External command error: Timeout: No Response from 10.120.5.31:161.

I've defined my host:

Code: Select all

define host{
        use             generic-switch          ; Inherit default values from a template
        host_name       SW03                    ; The name we're giving to this switch
        alias           Switch SG300-52         ; A longer name associated with the switch
        address         10.120.5.31             ; IP address of the switch
        hostgroups      switches                ; Host groups this switch is associated with
        }
And the services

Code: Select all

# Create a service to PING to switch

define service{
        use                     generic-service                 ; Inherit values from a template
        host_name               SW03                            ; The name of the host the service is associated with
        service_description     PING                            ; The service description
        check_command           check_ping!200.0,20%!600.0,60%  ; The command used to monitor the service
        normal_check_interval   5                               ; Check the service every 5 minutes under normal conditions
        retry_check_interval    1                               ; Re-check the service every minute until its final/hard state is determined
        }

# Monitor uptime via SNMP

define service{
        use                     generic-service                 ; Inherit values from a template
        host_name               SW03
        service_description     Uptime
        check_command           check_snmp!-C public -o sysUpTime.0
        }

# Monitor Port 1 status via SNMP

define service{
        use                     generic-service                 ; Inherit values from a template
        host_name               SW03
        service_description     Port 1 Link Status
        check_command           check_snmp!-C public -o ifOperStatus.1 -r 1 -m RFC1213-MIB
        }
Could you help me?
sreinhardt
-fno-stack-protector
Posts: 4366
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:10 pm

Re: Problem with SNMP plugin

Post by sreinhardt »

Have you opened and configured snmp on that device? We can test with:

Code: Select all

nmap -sU -p 161 10.120.5.31
Nagios-Plugins maintainer exclusively, unless you have other C language bugs with open-source nagios projects, then I am happy to help! Please pm or use other communication to alert me to issues as I no longer track the forum.
blinker86
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:08 pm

Re: Problem with SNMP plugin

Post by blinker86 »

Yes, the snmp is avaible

Code: Select all

[root@nagios ~]# nmap -sU -p 161 10.120.5.31

Starting Nmap 5.51 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2014-06-30 16:16 PET
Nmap scan report for 10.120.5.31
Host is up (0.0031s latency).
PORT    STATE SERVICE
161/udp open  snmp
MAC Address: 6C:20:56:85:E1:4D (Unknown)

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 0.47 seconds
User avatar
Box293
Too Basu
Posts: 5126
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 10:55 pm
Location: Deniliquin, Australia
Contact:

Re: Problem with SNMP plugin

Post by Box293 »

Have you configured that Cisco device with the communiity name public, which allows your Nagios Host read access?

A great test of SNMP is to perform a SNMP Walk.

Code: Select all

snmpwalk -c public -v 2c 10.120.5.31
As of May 25th, 2018, all communications with Nagios Enterprises and its employees are covered under our new Privacy Policy.
blinker86
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:08 pm

Re: Problem with SNMP plugin

Post by blinker86 »

Thanks for the information. I configured the comunity name y the switch and now ir worked. Then i use the comand:

Code: Select all

snmpwalk -v1 -c public10.120.5.31 -m ALL .1 
To see the name of the interfaces :D

Tank you very much!
Locked