issue returning system metrics using ncpa

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
Locked
User avatar
nozlaf
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 9:50 pm
Location: Victoria, Australia

issue returning system metrics using ncpa

Post by nozlaf »

so I had hoped to run an active check to return the agent version of the ncpa agent and windows version to co-ordinate upgrades

Code: Select all

./check_ncpa.py -H servername -t 'token' -M 'system/release'
seemed to work great! (does work great using ncpa 2.1.4)

Code: Select all

 OK: Release was ['2012ServerR2'] 
however I found that the older ncpa client (1.8.1) returned

Code: Select all

0
release was ['2003Server']
is there an easy way around this that I am not aware of? or do I need to have different checks for different ncpa versions ?
Looking forward to seeing you all at #NagiosCon2019?
-Dedicated Lover of Nconf,PNP4Nagios and Nagvis
User avatar
lmiltchev
Former Nagios Staff
Posts: 13587
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:15 pm

Re: issue returning system metrics using ncpa

Post by lmiltchev »

The latest plugin is supposed to handle this for you.

https://github.com/NagiosEnterprises/nc ... ck_ncpa.py

Try it with:

Code: Select all

./check_ncpa.py -H servername -t 'token' -M 'system/release'
and

Code: Select all

./check_ncpa.py -H servername -t 'token' -M 'system/agent_version'
run against machines with 2.1.4 and 1.8.1 againt installed, and let us know if it worked for you.
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
nozlaf
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 9:50 pm
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: issue returning system metrics using ncpa

Post by nozlaf »

lmiltchev wrote:The latest plugin is supposed to handle this for you.
yeah I thought this was the case but I was already running the latest
I just double checked that there wasn't an issue with the tar.gz version from your website so grabbed the github version and both are the same version number and yield same result
Looking forward to seeing you all at #NagiosCon2019?
-Dedicated Lover of Nconf,PNP4Nagios and Nagvis
User avatar
lmiltchev
Former Nagios Staff
Posts: 13587
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:15 pm

Re: issue returning system metrics using ncpa

Post by lmiltchev »

Can you try upgrading your plugin to ver. 1.1.4 and see if this is going to fix your issue?

https://github.com/NagiosEnterprises/nc ... ck_ncpa.py
Be sure to check out our Knowledgebase for helpful articles and solutions!
User avatar
nozlaf
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 9:50 pm
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: issue returning system metrics using ncpa

Post by nozlaf »

lmiltchev wrote:Can you try upgrading your plugin to ver. 1.1.4 and see if this is going to fix your issue?
Yep fixed the issue
thanks for fixing this
Looking forward to seeing you all at #NagiosCon2019?
-Dedicated Lover of Nconf,PNP4Nagios and Nagvis
tmcdonald
Posts: 9117
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:40 am

Re: issue returning system metrics using ncpa

Post by tmcdonald »

Great to hear! Did you have further (related) questions or are we good to lock this up?
Former Nagios employee
User avatar
nozlaf
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 9:50 pm
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: issue returning system metrics using ncpa

Post by nozlaf »

lock it up
Looking forward to seeing you all at #NagiosCon2019?
-Dedicated Lover of Nconf,PNP4Nagios and Nagvis
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: issue returning system metrics using ncpa

Post by scottwilkerson »

nozlaf wrote:lock it up
Locking
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
Locked