NNA can't resolve host IP

This support forum board is for support questions relating to Nagios Network Analyzer, our network traffic and bandwidth analysis solution.
Locked
agpol07
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:27 am

NNA can't resolve host IP

Post by agpol07 »

Hi,

There is one ip address in my network that is not resolved on NNA gui.
If i make a nslookup or ping the host name from cli it is resolved properly.
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: NNA can't resolve host IP

Post by scottwilkerson »

It need to be able to do a reverse DNS lookup, if you run nslookup with the IP what do you get?

Code: Select all

nslookup xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
agpol07
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:27 am

Re: NNA can't resolve host IP

Post by agpol07 »

Code: Select all

[root@nagios /]# nslookup 10.2.2.20
Server:         10.2.3.16
Address:        10.2.3.16#53

20.2.2.10.in-addr.arpa  name = proxy1.XXXXXXXXXXXX.

[root@nagios /]#
[root@nagios /]# nslookup proxy1.XXXXXXXXXXXXX
Server:         10.2.3.16
Address:        10.2.3.16#53

Name:   proxy1.XXXXXXXXXX
Address: 10.2.2.20

ssax
Dreams In Code
Posts: 7682
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: NNA can't resolve host IP

Post by ssax »

What does your /etc/resolv.conf show?

Code: Select all

cat /etc/resolv.conf
What does this output?

Code: Select all

php -r 'echo gethostbyaddr("10.2.2.20")."\n";'
agpol07
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:27 am

Re: NNA can't resolve host IP

Post by agpol07 »

ssax wrote:What does your /etc/resolv.conf show?

Code: Select all

cat /etc/resolv.conf

Code: Select all

; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
search MYDOMAIN
nameserver 10.2.3.16
nameserver 10.3.3.33

ssax wrote: What does this output?

Code: Select all

php -r 'echo gethostbyaddr("10.2.2.20")."\n";'

Code: Select all

proxy1.XXXXXXXXX
agpol07
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:27 am

Re: NNA can't resolve host IP

Post by agpol07 »

I've tried everything from this thread, too.

https://support.nagios.com/forum/viewto ... 32&t=38274

But, with no luck..
agpol07
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:27 am

Re: NNA can't resolve host IP

Post by agpol07 »

I'd like to mention that when i first set up NNA, the above resolutions didn't work.
Then i contacted DNS admin, and after he changed something everything worked fine from ssh(cli), but not from GUI.
ssax
Dreams In Code
Posts: 7682
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: NNA can't resolve host IP

Post by ssax »

I'm out of ideas. Please create a ticket for this and include a link back to this forum thread so we can get a remote session setup so we can debug further:

https://support.nagios.com/tickets/
ssax
Dreams In Code
Posts: 7682
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: NNA can't resolve host IP

Post by ssax »

Locking thread, ticket received, we will continue support through the ticket.

If anyone else experiences this, run this command to delete the old cached item:
- Change X.X.X.X to the IP of the affected system

Code: Select all

mysql -h 127.0.0.1 -unagiosna -pnagiosna nagiosna -e "delete from nagiosna_hostname_cache where ip='X.X.X.X';"
Then go view a report that contains it and it should re-cache the information.
Locked