We're moving to a new support system!

The Nagios Answer Hub is a place where you can get help with technical questions from our experts. There, you can quickly open tickets and join discussion boards.

Request Nagios Answer Hub access here: https://info.nagios.com/answer-hub-access-new-users

After completing the access form, you will be given access to a portal where new tickets can be created. We will keep the old customer forum sections and ticket system available for current cases to be resolved.

Go to the Answer Hub

Nagios XI - Configuration Applies, No Changes Take Place

Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
Includes Nagios Core, Plugins, and NCPA

Nagios XI - Configuration Applies, No Changes Take Place

Postby etomovic » Wed Oct 27, 2021 7:30 am

Hi all,

We have installed Nagios XI and we have problems adding and monitoring new hosts.
Description:
Following the installation, localhost came pre-added to the hosts list, is present and is being monitored. We have tried to add new host via CCM. New host is present in the CCM host table, "Active" box is checked in the Host management settings. When we apply configuration, it appears to be succesful, no errors. Host config is present in /usr/local/nagios/etc/hosts.
Despite all of this, new hosts won't appear amongst monitored hosts - only localhost remains monitored.
When we remove localhost host via CCM and apply new config, localhost remains monitored anyway.
Basically, we cannot do any configuration changes as it seems these are being completely ignored.

I went through the KB article, which is perfectly describing our situation, but nothing mentioned there helps us.

https://support.nagios.com/kb/article/n ... ce-39.html

We are running Nagios XI 5.8.6 (free version atm) with Nagios Core 4.4.6.

Many thanks for any help.
etomovic
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 3:56 am

Re: Nagios XI - Configuration Applies, No Changes Take Place

Postby gormank » Thu Oct 28, 2021 3:45 pm

Under the admin tab in NXI there's a manage config files (or something like that) menu. Try using that to remove and rewrite the config files.
gormank
 
Posts: 989
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 12:00 pm


Return to Community Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests