Service table display issue

This support forum board is for support questions relating to Nagios XI, our flagship commercial network monitoring solution.
Locked
tonyyarusso
Posts: 1128
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:38 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN, USA
Contact:

Service table display issue

Post by tonyyarusso »

I have a particular set of services that aren't displaying properly in XI, but are fine in Core. Here's how it looks in Core:
host_core.png
And here's how it looks in XI:
host_xi.png
As you can see, there are two issues:
1) If there is more than one active alert on the service, only the first one is shown.
2) If there is more than one active alert on the previous service, the following service ends up shunted over on the right without a label.

Here's the raw plugin output for the "North Exurbs WX" service as an example:

Code: Select all

Weather Warning: <a href="http://alerts.weather.gov/cap/wwacapget.php?x=MN124F12BDF6B4.HeatAdvisory.124F12DADE50MN.MPXNPWMPX.17d1979702c177d9600c23d4ba18e9e3" class="ext_link">Heat Advisory</a>, <a href="http://alerts.weather.gov/cap/wwacapget.php?x=MN124F12BDF6B4.ExcessiveHeatWarning.124F12DADE50MN.MPXNPWMPX.90c0555f68c059fd6355f825a2f50cf1" class="ext_link">Excessive Heat Warning</a>|'Severity'=2;0;3;0;4 'Urgency'=2;0;2;-1;3 'Certainty'=3;0;3;0;4 'Active Alerts'=2;;;0;
I'm suspecting that somewhere in the service parsing and display code the comma isn't being properly escaped.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tony Yarusso
Technical Services
___
TIES
Web: http://ties.k12.mn.us/
abrist
Red Shirt
Posts: 8334
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:20 pm

Re: Service table display issue

Post by abrist »

There is a good chance that the html tags are messing with the display. Can you wrap this plugin to cleanup the extra html tags or remove the comma?
Former Nagios employee
"It is turtles. All. The. Way. Down. . . .and maybe an elephant or two."
VI VI VI - The editor of the Beast!
Come to the Dark Side.
tonyyarusso
Posts: 1128
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:38 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN, USA
Contact:

Re: Service table display issue

Post by tonyyarusso »

Looks like it's the HTML tags that are the issue - I have those in there so I can click to details right from the service status. So apparently those are what XI needs to escape.
Tony Yarusso
Technical Services
___
TIES
Web: http://ties.k12.mn.us/
tonyyarusso
Posts: 1128
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:38 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN, USA
Contact:

Re: Service table display issue

Post by tonyyarusso »

Here's a Firebug grab of what it's producing for the service status detail page:
page_source.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tony Yarusso
Technical Services
___
TIES
Web: http://ties.k12.mn.us/
scottwilkerson
DevOps Engineer
Posts: 19396
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises
Contact:

Re: Service table display issue

Post by scottwilkerson »

I would almost bet this is because the output is being truncated when going into the DB, (default for output field is 255 chars)

run the following

Code: Select all

mysql -pnagiosxi nagios
describe nagios_servicestatus 
select output from nagios_servicestatus ss,nagios_objects o where ss.service_object_id=o.object_id and name2='North Exurbs WX';
If output appears cutoff, you can increase the size of output by running something like the following where 1024 is the new size

Code: Select all

mysql -pnagiosxi nagios
alter table nagios_servicestatus modify output VARCHAR(1024) NOT NULL DEFAULT '';
After the change you will need to wait for the next check results to come in before the change would be seen.
Former Nagios employee
Creator:
ahumandesign.com
enneagrams.com
tonyyarusso
Posts: 1128
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:38 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN, USA
Contact:

Re: Service table display issue

Post by tonyyarusso »

Oooh, yup. Forgot that XI and Core read the status info from different places. That did the trick, thanks.
Tony Yarusso
Technical Services
___
TIES
Web: http://ties.k12.mn.us/
slansing
Posts: 7698
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 4:28 pm
Location: Travelling through time and space...

Re: Service table display issue

Post by slansing »

Closing as resolved.
Locked