Page 3 of 15

Re: Check Windows Processes

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:21 am
by slansing
Whatever argument you are passing the check, I'm not sure what you had previously set up, or what would be required as I cannot find this plugin anywhere. You could try with numbers, or text and see what it gives you, simple troubleshooting style :)

Re: Check Windows Processes

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:26 am
by ofadl
ok, so everytime i insert a number into <enter arguments here> i just get the number i input as output.


-bash: syntax error near unexpected token `1'



Every time i enter a word, i get

"-bash: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'"

path i used was:

/usr/lib/nagios/plugins/check_nrpe -H <10.200.50.176> -p 5666 -c check_procs_from_file -a <test>

Re: Check Windows Processes

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:31 am
by slansing
You are not wrapping the IP and argument in "<>" are you? That was to denote you needed to place your own info there.

What happens when you run:

Code: Select all

/usr/lib/nagios/plugins/check_nrpe
And:

Code: Select all

/usr/lib/nagios/plugins/check_nrpe -H <windowserverip>

Re: Check Windows Processes

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:35 am
by ofadl
i am getting this for /usr/lib/nagios/check_nrpe

Incorrect command line arguments supplied

NRPE Plugin for Nagios
Copyright (c) 1999-2008 Ethan Galstad (nagios@nagios.org)
Version: 2.12
Last Modified: 03-10-2008
License: GPL v2 with exemptions (-l for more info)
SSL/TLS Available: Anonymous DH Mode, OpenSSL 0.9.6 or higher required

Usage: check_nrpe -H <host> [-n] [-u] [-p <port>] [-t <timeout>] [-c <command>] [-a <arglist...>]

Options:
-n = Do no use SSL
-u = Make socket timeouts return an UNKNOWN state instead of CRITICAL
<host> = The address of the host running the NRPE daemon
[port] = The port on which the daemon is running (default=5666)
[timeout] = Number of seconds before connection times out (default=10)
[command] = The name of the command that the remote daemon should run
[arglist] = Optional arguments that should be passed to the command. Multiple
arguments should be separated by a space. If provided, this must be
the last option supplied on the command line.
-h,--help Print this short help.
-l,--license Print licensing information.
-n,--no-ssl Do not initial an ssl handshake with the server, talk in plaintext.

Note:
This plugin requires that you have the NRPE daemon running on the remote host.
You must also have configured the daemon to associate a specific plugin command
with the [command] option you are specifying here. Upon receipt of the
[command] argument, the NRPE daemon will run the appropriate plugin command and
send the plugin output and return code back to *this* plugin. This allows you
to execute plugins on remote hosts and 'fake' the results to make Nagios think
the plugin is being run locally.


and am getting a "check_nrpe: socket timeout after 10 seconds" when running

/usr/lib/nagios/plugins/check_nrpe -H 10.200.50.76

Re: Check Windows Processes

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 2:47 pm
by sreinhardt
Lets verify the nrpe port is open and receptive to your nagios host.

nmap -p 5666 10.200.50.76

you can also try nrpe without ssl and see if that helps although my guess is it will not

./check_nrpe -H 10.200.50.76 -n

Re: Check Windows Processes

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 2:53 pm
by ofadl
so i ran first command after installed the program nmap, and heres the output:

Starting Nmap 5.21 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2013-06-28 15:51 EDT
Note: Host seems down. If it is really up, but blocking our ping probes, try -PN
Nmap done: 1 IP address (0 hosts up) scanned in 3.06 seconds

second command, gives me an socket timeout after 10 seconds

Re: Check Windows Processes

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 2:56 pm
by sreinhardt
Either your host is not up, or you do not have routes to it. This is a networking issue.

Re: Check Windows Processes

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 2:59 pm
by ofadl
i think it has to do with the routes to it, the host is working fine and there are several service checks working under it... would u know on how to go about solving this?

Re: Check Windows Processes

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:30 am
by abrist
Some troubleshooting:

Code: Select all

ping 10.200.50.76
route -n

Re: Check Windows Processes

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:12 am
by ofadl
i ran the ping 10.200.50.76 and didint get a reply then did route -n and got this:

Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
0.0.0.0 10.200.40.1 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth0
10.200.40.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0