Passive monitoring using SNMP traps

Support forum for Nagios Core, Nagios Plugins, NCPA, NRPE, NSCA, NDOUtils and more. Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
alf@emcom.no

Passive monitoring using SNMP traps

Post by alf@emcom.no »

Hello.
I am a newbie with Nagios, and I need some help to figure out if what I am trying to do is feasible, and if so - how.
I have a few routers remotely installed, and they cannot be reached from the outside - so I have to rely on the devices trapping to my Nagios server.
BUT; the traps generated are not critical warnings or what traps are usually used for. In stead, the traps contain an array of different parameters (OIDs) with values.
Can I receive the traps, and in stead of using a catch-all "TRAP" service, use the data within to update the respective services/OIDs that reside within the trap data ?
Do I have to write my own traphandler or submit-routine ?

Actual status right now is as follows :
- All traps are received as service TRAP - content is further OIDs

The root OID is .1.3.6.1.4.1.30140.1.27.0.1000 as found in /var/log/snmptt.log ;

Code: Select all

Thu Aug  6 09:49:09 2015 .1.3.6.1.4.1.30140.1.27.0.1000 Critical "SNMP Traps" 10.10.11.20 - 
Any help much appreciated.
jdalrymple
Skynet Drone

Re: Passive monitoring using SNMP traps

Post by jdalrymple »

Your approach doesn't sound right to me. Traps can be written for just about anything on a Linux server using net-snmp custom extensions. Let's say though you wanted to monitor a Cisco device - the traps are hard coded into IOS and you can't add/adjust them. So you'll be able to get a trap alert for interface up or interface down, but I don't think an IOS device will send a trap if the CPU usage exceeds a specific threshold or if the system ambient temperature goes over so many degrees.