Nagios only shows disabled ports from Meraki switch

This board serves as an open discussion and support collaboration point for Nagios XI. NOTE: Nagios XI customers should use the Customer Support forum to obtain expedited support.

Nagios only shows disabled ports from Meraki switch

Postby nagiosfan » Wed May 16, 2018 4:35 pm

We have 4 Meraki switches as one stack. I add those switches into Nagios monitoring pool using SNMP and PING. Each switch has 48 ports but Nagios only shows disabled ports on each switch such as 4 ports on first switch and only 2 ports from second switch, etc. Does anyone has this problem and I would like to hear the solution.
Thanks
nagiosfan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Nagios only shows disabled ports from Meraki switch

Postby scottwilkerson » Thu May 17, 2018 9:25 am

Did you run the Switch/Router Wizard and that's what you see?

Just trying to collect some information as we do not have that equipment to test with.
User avatar
scottwilkerson
CTO
 
Posts: 9131
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises

Re: Nagios only shows disabled ports from Meraki switch

Postby nagiosfan » Thu May 17, 2018 12:45 pm

Yes I use netwrok switch/router wizard. After filling all information such as IP, SNMP string and port, the wizard pops up few ports on this witch. I check those ports on Meraki dashboard and those ports are disabled. I did with other switches and same thing happened. All ports appeared on Nagios were disabled. The only device worked was firewall. That device I could see all ports appeared. The only problem was on switches.
nagiosfan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Nagios only shows disabled ports from Meraki switch

Postby scottwilkerson » Thu May 17, 2018 2:37 pm

I'll leave this thread open if someone has experience with Meraki switchs

Maybe there is a setting on the switch to toggle enabling snmp on all ports (which is usually the default behavior on all switches I have used)
User avatar
scottwilkerson
CTO
 
Posts: 9131
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises

Re: Nagios only shows disabled ports from Meraki switch

Postby nagiosfan » Thu May 17, 2018 4:09 pm

The problem seems to be on Nagios setting since I have hooked those switches with other monitor systems like spicework, opmanager and all ports from those switches appeared using snmp.
Thanks
nagiosfan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Nagios only shows disabled ports from Meraki switch

Postby scottwilkerson » Thu May 17, 2018 4:17 pm

can you PM me your system profile along with the name of this switch and I will have a look

Thanks
User avatar
scottwilkerson
CTO
 
Posts: 9131
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises

Re: Nagios only shows disabled ports from Meraki switch

Postby nagiosfan » Thu May 17, 2018 9:42 pm

Here it is
Nagios XI - System Info
System:
Nagios XI Version : 5.4.13
nagiossrvr01 3.10.0-862.el7.x86_64 x86_64
CentOS Linux release 7.5.1804 (Core)
Gnome is not installed
Apache Information
PHP Version: 5.4.16
Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_13_4) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/66.0.3359.139 Safari/537.36
Server Name: nagiossrvr01.spoton.com
Server Address: 10.0.10.12
Server Port: 80
Date/Time
PHP Timezone: America/Los_Angeles
PHP Time: Thu, 17 May 2018 19:40:05 -0700
System Time: Thu, 17 May 2018 19:40:05 -0700
Nagios XI Data
License ends in:

Days left in Trial: 57

nagios (pid 10053) is running...
NPCD running (pid 1207).
ndo2db (pid 1943) is running...
CPU Load 15: 0.16
Total Hosts: 15
Total Services: 230
Function 'get_base_uri' returns: http://nagiossrvr01.spoton.com/nagiosxi/
Function 'get_base_url' returns: http://nagiossrvr01.spoton.com/nagiosxi/
Function 'get_backend_url(internal_call=false)' returns: http://nagiossrvr01.spoton.com/nagiosxi ... rofile.php
Function 'get_backend_url(internal_call=true)' returns: http://localhost/nagiosxi/backend/
Ping Test localhost
Running:
/bin/ping -c 3 localhost 2>&1
PING localhost (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.052 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.045 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.060 ms

--- localhost ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 1999ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.045/0.052/0.060/0.008 ms
Test wget To localhost
WGET From URL: http://localhost/nagiosxi/includes/components/ccm/
Running:
/usr/bin/wget http://localhost/nagiosxi/includes/components/ccm/
--2018-05-17 19:40:07-- http://localhost/nagiosxi/includes/components/ccm/
Resolving localhost (localhost)... ::1, 127.0.0.1
Connecting to localhost (localhost)|::1|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
Location: http://localhost/nagiosxi/login.php?red ... f&noauth=1 [following]
--2018-05-17 19:40:07-- http://localhost/nagiosxi/login.php?red ... f&noauth=1
Reusing existing connection to [localhost]:80.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [text/html]
Saving to: '/usr/local/nagiosxi/tmp/ccm_index.tmp'

0K .......... .......... ..... 3.45M=0.007s

2018-05-17 19:40:08 (3.45 MB/s) - '/usr/local/nagiosxi/tmp/ccm_index.tmp' saved [26419]

Network Settings
1: lo: mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000

link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00

inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo

valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

inet6 ::1/128 scope host

valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

2: ens192: mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP group default qlen 1000

link/ether 00:50:56:9d:3f:55 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

inet 10.0.10.12/24 brd 10.0.10.255 scope global noprefixroute ens192

valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

inet6 fe80::250:56ff:fe9d:3f55/64 scope link

valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever


default via 10.0.10.1 dev ens192 proto static metric 100

10.0.10.0/24 dev ens192 proto kernel scope link src 10.0.10.12 metric 100

The name of switches having trouble: 10.0.0.5,10.0.0.6,10.0.0.7,10.0.0.9
You can try to figure out problem on 10.0.0.5 If you can solve problem on one switch, the rest should be done.
nagiosfan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Nagios only shows disabled ports from Meraki switch

Postby scottwilkerson » Fri May 18, 2018 7:54 am

Sorry I wasn't clear, I was looking for the profile.zip
User avatar
scottwilkerson
CTO
 
Posts: 9131
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises

Re: Nagios only shows disabled ports from Meraki switch

Postby nagiosfan » Fri May 18, 2018 10:38 am

The one I posted was the content of profile.zip but if you want me to attach that zip file. Below is the one
Attachments
profile.zip
(101.76 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
nagiosfan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Nagios only shows disabled ports from Meraki switch

Postby scottwilkerson » Fri May 18, 2018 10:55 am

Looking at the mrtg configuration for 10.0.0.5 it looks like all the ports were "administratively DOWN" when the wizard was run, I can even see it on port 1

If you run the following from the CLI you should be able to see that SNMP is reporting these administratively down
Code: Select all
/usr/bin/cfgmaker --show-op-down --noreversedns --zero-speed 100000000 nagiossnmp@10.0.0.5:161::::2
User avatar
scottwilkerson
CTO
 
Posts: 9131
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Nagios Enterprises

Next

Return to Nagios XI

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ginfra and 15 guests