Monitoring Wizard Error Running Windows Server

This support forum board is for support questions relating to Nagios XI, our flagship commercial network monitoring solution.
tmoriarity

Monitoring Wizard Error Running Windows Server

Post by tmoriarity »

Hello,

I just completed a fresh install of Nagios XI. Everything went very smooth until I attempted to add my first host using the monitoring wizard.

I am using the windows server option. I continue through the config screens(taking defaults) and when it goes to save the config I get an error.
Error: Template 'xiwizard_windowsserver_host' specified in host definition could not be not found (config file '/usr/local/nagios/etc/hosts/isonoe.emh.org.cfg', starting on line 14)
I did notice that the xiwizard_windowsserver_host template was disabled on the fresh install. I tried to re-enable it. Still the config fails to load.

I am new to Nagios and Nagios XI. If more logging is needed please let me know.

Thank You.
dlevine

Re: Monitoring Wizard Error Running Windows Server

Post by dlevine »

Ah - yeah - I have the exact same problem too... I was able to get a Windows host setup in XI using the Windows Desktop wizard instead of the Server wizard though. However, the Server wizard looks nice as it provides space for you to setup server services and other stuff to monitor right off the bat - the Desktop wizard does not. I have not gone into the Nagios Core Config as of yet to try and get more specific services to be monitored, but I would imagine that this is what I will have to do until the server wizard thing is resolved...

Would be great to get this going though as I will be trying to "sell" this to my boss over some other commercial offerings...

D
tkeface

Post by tkeface »