check_mssql with a domain account

Engage with the community of users including those using the open source solutions.
Includes Nagios Core, Plugins, and NCPA

check_mssql with a domain account

Postby uidaho » Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:53 pm

Has anyone discovered how to use check_mssql with a domain account? I have tried variations of the username such as domain\user, domain\\user, in single quotes, double quotes, etc. The result is always "CRITICAL: Could not connect to <hostname> as <user>"

Thank you
David
uidaho
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:58 am

Re: check_mssql with a domain account

Postby abrist » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:38 am

You cannot use a domain account with the check_mssql*.py plugins. They require actual database user login credentials.
Former Nagios employee
"It is turtles. All. The. Way. Down. . . .and maybe an elephant or two."
VI VI VI - The editor of the Beast!
Come to the Dark Side.
abrist
Red Shirt
 
Posts: 8334
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:20 pm

Re: check_mssql with a domain account

Postby uidaho » Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:07 am

Do any of the XI mssql checks allow a domain account?
uidaho
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:58 am

Re: check_mssql with a domain account

Postby abrist » Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:44 am

Not as far as I know as none of the plugins include code for domain authentication. Instead, the plugins make a direct connection to the database instance/port/socket.
Former Nagios employee
"It is turtles. All. The. Way. Down. . . .and maybe an elephant or two."
VI VI VI - The editor of the Beast!
Come to the Dark Side.
abrist
Red Shirt
 
Posts: 8334
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:20 pm


Return to Community Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 47 guests